Game 101 Preview: The Giants Try to Avoid Losing 100 Games

by
Greek Giant

Tonight’s Game: Pirates (49-50) Vs Giants (38-62) at Willie Mays Field, 7:15 PM
Gerritt Cole (7-7, 4.18) Vs. Matt Cain (3-8, 5.49)

The Giants may have a tough time avoiding that dreaded 100 loss mark.

That Andrew Baggarly article sure is interesting.

The Giants face Gerritt Cole tonight. The Pirates ace is having a tough year though his team is back in the thick of it for the division race.

The Giants official pregame notes are here.

Five Questions

  1. Was 1985 a tougher year than 2017 in the National League?
  2. Should the Giants re-sign Eduardo Nunez rather than trade him?
  3. Who is the most-feared hitter on the Pirates?
  4. Will Cain get past the 5th inning tonight?
  5. Should the Giants consider trading BCraw?
  • channelclemente
    • Awesome.

      • channelclemente

        It’s not modern, foresure. Can you imagine the process control diagram, if you’re a Deming dude at all? I love the needle routine at the end to raise the seams. Gee what could go wrong.

  • Matthew

    1. No
    2. They can do both. Trade him now, resign him after the season
    3. Chris Stewart
    4. Yes.
    5. No.

    • 610nm

      Ex-Giant catchers do have a way of destroying us.

      • ex-backup catchers…

        • Matthew

          If someone signs Quiroz, we’re screwed

          • 610nm

            Fortunately the Giants are keeping Eli Whitesides gainfully employed.

      • Lunch_Box

        Yes but only catchers that weigh overweight and short for a catcher.

    • Eleuthero

      You’re just saying Chris Stewart to cover for your bromance with Gorkys.

  • Span
    Nuñez
    Belt
    Posey
    Craw
    Pence
    Panik
    Gorkys
    Cain

    • dgg

      I always like to see the tilde over the n in Spanish names.

      Q: “How do you pronounce ñ in English?”

      A: “The Spanish alphabet has two more letters than the English alphabet. One of them is the Ñ. The Ñ is a letter that’s an N with a little thing on the top that you see in front of you. It’s pronounced like the “ni” in “onion.”

  • Lunch_Box

    1. No because I was too young to remember 1985.
    2. Re-sign him to a fair contract that isn’t “Crawford-esque” because he’s on the wrong side of 30 and has been on the DL more times than I can count.
    3. McCutchen
    4. No.
    5. Yes. I don’t consider him an “untouchable” and never did. Great glove but below avg. hitting. He peaked in 2015 and 2016.

  • For anybody who missed Jeremy Affeldt being interviewed at ATT at the Patio House before the game on last Friday – the guy is a complete walking/sitting comedian. Tolbert and Lund got him to talk about game 7 in KC in depth using baseball grunts and groans etc. He said that Bochy got with him and a few pitchers very early before the game and Affeldt reflected that Boch actually has the biggest stones of anybody. He tells Affeldt, “Well Jeremy, based on their/KC comments about we don’t have to see Bumgarner anymore … …. I’m going with Bum as early as I can:.

    Boch told Affeldt you really have to be ready EARLY because I WILL take Huddy out as early as the second inning. Cain was there and so was Casilla and Casilla (in Affeldts mind) goofs and says “Jesus say we win tonight”.

    So Affeldt processes that in not exactly a good way….saying out-loud to SC “oh great – just what I need – more pressure”. Down in the bullpen says Affeldt since there “is no game 8” – pitchers are trying to stay loose but it is not working. Timmy is firing pitches so far over the catchers heads that KC fans up above are in harms way. Cain was so wild that Gardy put two catchers on either side of one bullpen home plate. The only person really stoic and docile was Bum who Affeldt said was most likely so tired that he sat there like a mannequin.

    Here it is here https://audioboom.com/posts/6130632-7-21-jeremy-affeldt-says-anything-could-happen-when-the-game-is-on-the-line?t=0

    • Eleuthero

      So Bochy proved to be a prophet ’cause it played out just like he told Affeldt before the game. 2014 was a miracle because we couldn’t do jack with Herrera, Davis, and Holland all Series long.

      • PLUS there was a rather ugly vulgar incident that Flan owned up to. During the entire season one KC fan who may/may not have traveled also to SF – in a drunkin stupor kept yelling to any Giant or Coach in the Giants dugout that “we want Bumgarner”. The KC fan was a pretty vile piece of work and him and players went at it but Flan deflected most of it by making it his mission to hog-tie the fan. The fan was like 24/7 blurting out in every game, even if Bum had pitched the night before that “we want Bumgarner”. Well when the bullpen gates open and John Wayne Bumgarner sauntered in – Flan – basically unleashed on the fan. I heard what he said – but I will let you guys fill in the blanks.

        • Bapah

          I remember the story, but don’t remember what he said. I just remember it was classic.

        • Eleuthero

          That’s a funny story but I’ll bet the banter between Flan and this dude was not PG rated.

    • Peter Johnson

      Cain was on the DL, not on the playoff roster .

      • Don’t know what to tell you other than listen to the tape. Maybe he was hurt and still WITH his teammates IN the bullpen.

        • Efrain

          does it really matter?

          • Matthew

            It does to our guy Peter!

    • Moooooooooose

      I heard Affeldt on the radio last week and he had whoever it was howling about his hitting. He remembered an extra inning at bat where he swung at the first pitch which was above his head. They threw another one there which he took, then turned around and said, “Hey, I’m a big league hitter. I make adjustments.”

  • Efrain

    1) 85 was a fun team to watch and it was very cheap to go to Candlestick. What I see as a big difference now is that the West is a tough division, lots of stars and even teams like the Padres have young talent coming up.

    2) The only acceptable answer is Nunez should be traded because he is a know commodity around the league, his worth is as high as it can be right now. And he is not a piece for the Giants future, which should be priority #1.

    3) Cutch or Bell

    4) No one really cares, he should be DFA’d

    5) No because they don;t have a solution ready. That would change things, but they just don’t, so no.

  • Five Questions
    1. Was 1985 a tougher year than 2017 in the National League?
    *** Definitely NOT, 2017 is tougher but let’s hope there are some similarities for 2018 and 2019 like there was in 1986 and 1987. 1985 had some good guys who were hurt, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1985_San_Francisco_Giants_season#Roster
    2. Should the Giants re-sign Eduardo Nunez rather than trade him?
    *** No, my source Clem Kadiddlehopper (Pablo is returning) says that #10 is gone
    3. Who is the most-feared hitter on the Pirates?
    *** In this order: Josh Bell, Cutch, Marte
    4. Will Cain get past the 5th inning tonight?
    *** 5.2
    5. Should the Giants consider trading BCraw?
    *** No he has become the investors most favorite player.

  • gamervixen

    1. well after the 84 season not much was expected of them. this year just seems so uninspired. i agree with sabean, they do not know how to win anymore. and then there is the Pablo thing which i find so ridic.
    2. trade him
    3. mccutchen, I guess
    4. no
    5. no

  • Foothills Rye

    Pad worked out a multi-player trade with Royals after Giants series. Also, Jaime Garcia to the Twinkies.

    https://www.mlbtraderumors.com/2017/07/royals-to-acquire-cahill-maurer-buchter-from-padres-for-strahm-wood-ruiz.html

  • GSDUbs

    1. 2017 for sure. Giants lost 96 games in ’84 so how much tougher could 4 more losses be in ’85?
    2. Trade AND re-sign…maybe.
    3. McCutchen. Red hot.
    4. Shouldn’t have gone past June (2016?).
    5. If they can get Seager, then yes. Otherwise, willing to settle.

    • paul in p.v.

      Uh – settle for what less than Seager?

      • GSDUbs

        Settle to keep him. In other words, no on trade regardless of regress offensively.

  • dgg

    1. No (Unlike Lunch Box, I’m old enough to remember.)
    2. No
    3. See Matthew’s response. Best so far and quite funny.
    4. Probably not
    5. No. NO! Absolutely not!

  • paul in p.v.

    5. BCraw???

    Greek – have you lost your marbles???

  • just peachy.

    Has this been posted yet? The Rays have acquired Romo – http://www.tampabay.com/blogs/rays/rays-hoping-rhp-romo-can-regain-form-help-bullpen/2331227

    “‘He’s got a little attitude in a good way,” SS Matt Duffy said, who played with Romo in San Francisco. “He’s not afraid of anybody when on the mound. He’s pitched in the biggest situations you can pitch in.'”

    • paul in p.v.

      Godspeed, Sergio!

      • Eleuthero

        Indeed. None of us will forget the last pitch of the 2012 season to Miguel Cabrera.

        • goodsam73

          was that delicious or what ??? I’m also a life long fan of the jay bruce duel in cincy

          • Andres The Forever Giant

            How I survived Romo v Bruce, I’ll never know!

    • goodsam73

      damn i miss the duffman

      • just peachy.

        me too. very very much. 🙁

  • Peter Johnson

    #1 No, #2 No, need more power from 3rd base, #3 Bell, Rookie 1st baseman with great power, #4 Yes, he has been better than I thought in most of his starts this year. #5 No, since he has a full no trade clause and he is a lifetime Giants fan from the bay area, I doubt he will allow it . it is his choice not the Giants .

  • Hoona

    1. No, ’17 Giants on pace for more losses

    2. No, I’d rather see the Giants make an effort to sign a legitimate middle-of-the-order type bat.

    3. Most feared has to McCutchen, but Marte is the engine of that offense. When the Giants swept the Bucs in PNC, Marte didn’t play because of a suspension but he’s got sneaky power, ridiculous speed, and gets on base frequently. Get him out and the Giants pitching staff will have a much easier time pitching around this lineup.

    4. I don’t want to put a number on it.

    5. No. Plus, I wonder how much value he has around the league, considering the growing number of young talented players at the SS position.

  • Giants PreGame Notes http://mlb.mlb.com/documents/1/1/2/244177112/07.24.17_vs._PIT_Game_Notes_flpd50t2.pdf

    This Date in Giants History: July 24, 2003
    Barry Bonds celebrated his 39th birthday in style by clubbing the game winning homer off Arizona LHP Mike Myers…his walkoff solo shot gave the Giants a 3-2 win.

    Pirates PreGame Notes
    None Posted

    • DrLefty

      I remember watching that game. Immediately before the walk-off, he threw a runner out at the plate to end the top of the tenth. Have a birthday, BLB25! 🎂🎉

  • dgg

    John Shea 26min ago:
    Rehab updates: Cueto plays catch today, could throw bullpen session tomorrow. Melancon bullpen tomorrow, could face hitters this weekend.

    I read somewhere (I think one of the beat reporters asked and Bochy confirmed), that the Giants are proceeding slowly on rehabs because of the record.

  • Matthew

    If you just landed in Bizarro Giants World today ( more bizarro than reality…) one could interpret the Greek headline as saying the Giants are 1-99 going into tonight…

    • 2holehitting

      They are not?

      • 610nm

        It only feels that way.

  • dgg

    Some seem to find solace in talking about memories of 2010, 2012, and 2014. Great games and comebacks and moments to be remembered, to be sure. Reminiscing has not provided much cheer for me however.

    • Those are great memories, without the solace. My concern is the FO stirs up those memories to create a smokescreen amidst a frenzy to keep fans in the seats. One begins to question the order of priorities the FO sees. Nice to look back, but we need to look forward to what kind of dominating pitching we can acquire to compensate for the lack of run production. Right now, Bum at #1 and not sure what we got for SP’s after that. And that’s assuming Bum wants to be here. Above average starting pitching will be the quickest road to recovery.

  • Bapah

    I don’t normally pay much attention to these questions in many posts, BUT…
    I just spent over 4½. hours at the DMV trying to pay registration fees on a vehicle which took 2 attendants and 1 Supervisor (who was magnificent, BTW) to get resolved. So, I’ve pretty much had my fill of stupidity and ridiculousness today.

    George, Are you frigging nuts, or what? #5 may be the dumbest thing I’ve heard today and LET ME TELL YOU, I HAVE HEARD SOME REALLY STUPID THINGS TODAY.

    When BCraw can’t play SS anymore, he’ll play 3rd, when he can’t manage 3rd any more, he’ll kick Wotus to the curb and teach players how to play the infield. ARE YOU NUTS? Crawford isn’t going anywhere nor should he. When he dies, he should be buried under the infield.

    Sorry, but you just hit me on a bad day.

    • GSDUbs

      AT&T is acknowledged sacred ground and all…but buried under the infield? Can’t we just put up his Wall of Fame plaque and call it a day?

    • dgg

      My interpretation of #5: GG is asking a question, not stating an opinion. We’re starting to take naps in these games. GG is trying “to get us going” and keep us engaged.

      • Bapah

        I think he engaged me.

        • dgg

          I’d say so.

    • Matthew

      I have a AAA membership for one reason only: DMV booths at the office so I never have to go into the Hell that is the real DMV.

      Have a good night!

      • Bapah

        I was doing it for my son who has moved away and wants to sell his motorcycle (which he left with me), but DMV made some mistakes with his last Registration.

        I used to be a member, I may re-enlist.

      • just peachy.

        AAA is totally worth it.

    • Foothills Rye
  • dgg

    As reported earlier, Beede was scratched from his game today with a groin strain. He got injured during his warm-up. Could the excessive heat this summer be a contributing factor to all these injuries for the Giants?

    • DrLefty

      It was in Tacoma.

      • dgg

        77 degrees there now.

        • 77 degrees is hot up here in the PNW. Don’t laugh. Considering it rains 9-10 months out of the year, we’ll take it.

          • dgg

            We were in Port Angeles in June. It was turtlenecks and beanies and jackets weather. There was snowpack on trails in Olympic National Forest.

          • Nice.

        • DrLefty

          I was about to whine about how hot it is here, but then I looked it up and it’s only 88. Time to break out the sweaters!

    • He better get that groin strain fixed. Isn’t he like getting married pretty soon?

      • Moooooooooose

        How do you think he … ? Never mind

    • Efrain

      all teams have injuries. It’s not like the Giants have an “injury bug” that other teams are immune to.

      Just seems that way when a fan follows only one team.

  • HaakAway

    Giant who has started the most consecutive games as of today: 13 by …. ?
    Clue: He came in when Slater got injured.
    I shudder to think he may have the longest such streak of all on the 25-Man. … it is possible.

    • 610nm

      You have to give Gorkys some credit – many many many have played in the OF, and he’s the survivingest of them all. (clever observation, by the way)

      • DrLefty

        Yes, you really do!

        #TeamGorkys (now)

      • Matthew

        .330 over the last 7 weeks….

        Gorkys Himnandez!!!

        • HaakAway

          And that would matter if they were in a play-off race.
          They are not; they are in a search for next year’s roster and GH is not going to be on it.

          • Matthew

            Given what performances you’re seeing by the players trotted out there, Gorkys is far from the largest roster or lineup issue….

            At least one guy is busting ass

          • HaakAway

            The whole OF is the Largest Issue and watching GH bust his ass does nothing to get you closer to the answer.
            Play GH vs. Gomez, Jones, Calixte, Parker, Mac or Shaw and GH might win you one or two more games this year. The Giants should be way past that point. Look to the future and the fans will follow.

          • Matthew

            Then you feel the same way about Span and Pence? They clearly aren’t the future either. I’d love to see Parker in CF for the next month….

            Here’s the deal, though; “the future” may not be any of the crop you mentioned. Maybe Shaw. Maybe Gomez. Maybe. I get the lack of enthusiasm for the vets….but, I also feel that there is a ridiculous level of vitriol towards Gorkys, who doesn’t make out the lineup. He just goes out and plays hard.

          • HaakAway

            Span is auditioning for a trade to get a #15 OF Prospect. Pence can recover.
            I have no vitriol for GH; it is for Bochy stubbornly running him out there at this point in the season.

      • HaakAway

        I am now convinced this GH streak is about Bochy (whom I love) flipping off the FO (whom I think have tried to push young talent up as never before.)

        • Kind of like Lane Kiffin flipping Al Davis when he sent Janikowski out for a 75 yard field goal attempt.

    • Gorkys plays with some hunger. He may not be the best player we’ve ever had, but he’s got an honest way of playing the game. Hasn’t reached the going thru the motions level of play yet.

      • HaakAway

        GH is not the problem but the fact he has started all those games is a symptom of the problem.

        • Symptoms run deep with this team and are quite problematic.

  • buyselltrade

    1.1985 was tough but the Giants replaced Davenport with Craig and were on the road for revival. The 2017 Gianst are in a bad position as competitors have new young stars and the Giants lack, even in the pipeline. The 2017 is better and has more underperformed but are in a more sorry position as far as a resurgence.
    2. Depends on the commitment by Nunez to be a super sub and the salary and term of contract. I think two years and $6 million max. As a utility player Nunez is the best infielder the Giants have had in recent years plus he can steal bases.
    3. McCutchen. I am glad his season has improved to match his past but hopes he does poorly against the Giants. Wanted the Giants to make a run at his acquisition when he was doing poorly and before I fully the train wreck that is the 2017 Giants,
    4. No
    5. Doesn’t Crawford have a no trade? I am not sure he is that valuable based upon current productivity and all the young SS talent. Considering salary Nunez is probably a better deal for the current Giants to retain.

    • Giants54

      Nunez is not an option at SS.

    • Lunch_Box

      Giants better hope Crawford hits like he did in 2015 and 2016 for the rest of his contract: they can’t trade him and have him through 2021.

  • Hoona

    Nolan Arenado has 86 RBIs already. I mean… That’s just insane

    • GSDUbs

      There are players who’ve had over 100 at the all star break

      • Hoona

        In recent years? Who?

        • 12xu

          Juan Gonzalez, around 2001.

          • Foothills Rye

            he had 140 RBIs in ’01 and 157 in ’98. Those were some good years for the juice.
            Now they’re juicing the ball, what ya gonna do? Keeds these days, they just can’t stand a good ol’ fashioned pitching duel.

          • GSDUbs

            Loved that guy

          • 12xu

            Here’s the list, 90 or more RBI’s at the all-star break; last number is how many they finished the season with:
            103 — Hank Greenberg, Det., 1935, 76 games, 170 RBIs.
            101 — Juan Gonzalez, Texas, 1998, 87, 157.
            97 — Carlos Delgado, Tor., 2003, 95, 145.
            96 — Manny Ramirez, Cle., 1999, 78, 165.
            95 — Josh Hamilton, Tex., 2008, 90, ?.
            91 — Preston Wilson, Col., 2003, 97, 141.
            91 — Harmon Killebrew, Min., 1969, 96, 140.
            90 — George Foster, Cin., 1977, 89, 149.
            90 — Tony Perez, Cin., 1970, 88, 129.
            90 — Tommy Davis, LA, 1962, 89, 153.
            90 — Lou Gehrig, NYY, 1934, 73, 165.
            Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press

      • Foothills Rye

        Hack Wilson?

        • GSDUbs

          Juan Gonzalez most recently

        • HaakAway

          My Great Uncle … Single season record of 190 RBI

          • 12xu

            Really? That’s cool. And he drove in 191 that year (1930); some researcher a few years ago discovered an RBI that everybody else missed:
            https://www.baseball-reference.com/leaders/RBI_season.shtml

          • Matthew

            Haak Wilson was amazing

          • HaakAway

            Not related really but I tried to play that angle.
            Thanks for the correction. He must have gotten awarded another RBI since they digitized stats?

          • VINTAGEBLAK aka Baldheadslik1

            he was my uncle to hi cousin

    • Foothills Rye

      followed by Lamb 79, N Cruz 75, Harper 75, and Goldie with 73.

    • Moooooooooose

      85 against our guys!

  • First pitch has take all day to get here. It’s about time. Now let’s take it to the pirates.

    • VINTAGEBLAK aka Baldheadslik1

      Lolol take it to the Pirates I hope you’re right

  • Hoona

    Marte WILL take third if you don’t pay attention to him

    • Hoona

      Never mind.

      • 12xu

        Did Span deek Marte into thinking that he’d catch Harrison’s drive?

        • Hoona

          Should’ve been caught. Lazy flyball.

        • Matthew

          Not like he deked Evans

  • VINTAGEBLAK aka Baldheadslik1

    Miller on radio is getting on Denard Span saying he had a bad junk and he looked over at Pence before going for the ball in the Gap

    • Matthew

      Well….it was a typical Denard break on the ball….

      • totalfan62

        Didn’t see it. Another Fred Flintstone jump, I assume?

    • DrLefty

      Miller is not a fan of Span’s defense. Neither is Flemming.

  • Matthew

    Ya know…I was hoping to go one fucking inning without Denard getting me all pissed off about his presence…

    If Sabean was being honest a few weeks back about doing whatever it takes, start there.

    • Lunch_Box

      If Sabean isn’t doing it, he should listen to offers for Span.

      • Matthew

        He’s worth a tuna melt and a bag of Lays

        • Lunch_Box

          Where can Bochy slot those 2 in the line-up?

    • VINTAGEBLAK aka Baldheadslik1

      I feel that way about belt the way you feel about span LOL you want to trade

      • Matthew

        Deal

        • VINTAGEBLAK aka Baldheadslik1

          What bothers me is the Giants management has a difficult time admitting to their mistakes with trades and free agent signings and things of that nature

    • The Oracle

      Serenity now.

      • Matthew

        Huh?

        • The Oracle

          Not a Seinfeld fan, I guess.

          • Matthew

            Yeah, but not to the TO or Sincere level I guess

          • The Oracle

            It’s a Frank Costanza classic.

  • Hoona

    Not buying out of Cain’s contract after this season would be Evans’ biggest mistake since signing Span.

    • 12xu

      Schulman had an article around April: “Should the Giants pick up Matt Cain’s option for 2018?” I kid you not.

      • Hoona

        “Should” they? As if that’s the best course of action for them.

      • totalfan62

        Delusional.

    • The Oracle

      I don’t think you need to worry.

  • goodsam73

    just saw schulman’s note about wheeler once again being put on the 10DL for a “stress reaction” — just seems to be like the NYM ruined poor Zack and what did we get for him ??? oh yeah that guy who didn’t want to be here : (

  • 12xu

    Lots of loud contact, Cain is not fooling anybody.

    • VINTAGEBLAK aka Baldheadslik1

      Hey he’s all we got

    • Lunch_Box

      Get the ball dudes warmed up.

  • steve k

    it’s just so damned obvious that cain no longer can consistently get major leaguers out…let one of the kids get matt’s remaining starts, and DL him till sept.

    • Lunch_Box

      Bochy can’t do that to him after all he’s done for the team pre-2013.

  • Sgbssfg

    Cole looks a great deal like his brother in law.

  • Bapah

    Suede Goats

    • Bapah

      As you may have noticed, Who is care?

  • Sgbssfg

    Good thing Suarez is rested.

  • totalfan62

    1) No, but we’re so bad it makes this year seem worse. That 1985 team was awful.
    2) No. Good as he is and has been, it’s time to move on. Get something good for him, Bobby!
    3) Still McCutchen, IMHO.
    4) Yes. Into the sixth.
    5) NO! He needs to have a good offseason, lose weight, get stronger. And put the tragedy of this season behind him.

    • 610nm

      Apparently your answer to #3 is spot on.

  • This has the makings of a 4 & 1/2 – 5 hour game.

  • Doughnut

    Giants baseball…

  • crawnik

    It’s American Ninja Warrior time….

  • Cain on pace for 228 pitches.

    • Peter Johnson

      And 27 runs allowed .

    • Sgbssfg

      I tried to type something about Bochy showing some emotion. But Bapah nailed it. Who is care? I hope this isn’t what we’ll see for the next 2 months.

      Bring on the kids. Give Suarez a start.

      If I hadn’t finished my book earlier. I’d probably bail.

      • Yep. Lose with the guys that can help you win next season.

  • Matthew

    I’m hoping Conroy throws me out, too

    • Bapah

      I’m laying down on the plate. He’ll have to call a tow truck to get me off.

  • totalfan62

    Well, thanks guys. Just got home after a dinner meeting, checked AtBat app and it’s 2-0. Do I stay up? I mean, it’s 10:30 here. Four more in the second? Good night, y’all.

    • Matthew

      Well…it’s 6-0.

    • Brownie

      You mean 6-0

    • Bapah

      If it was still 2-0 maybe

    • Matthew

      I think that makes you officially partialfan62, by the way

  • Surf Maui

    At least Bochy doesn’t have to watch the cluster*%#?

    • Sgbssfg

      He can drink like the rest of us.

  • Brownie

    Maybe I should watch The Strain instead of this junk.

  • pacman68

    See you later Cain!!! Thanks for the memories.

    • Matthew

      Where you going, Pac?

      • pacman68

        I’m not going anywhere. I’m saying it for Cain who is giving me spasms.

        • Matthew

          I know…just teasing.

  • VINTAGEBLAK aka Baldheadslik1

    I think John Miller on radio just said that Brandon Crawford finally gets a hit against his wife’s husband pitching for Pittsburg As We Know

    • Peter Johnson

      For me. Krukow, Kuiper and Miller, are too bad to listen to, Fleming is the only one that I can stand , the other 3 are just too old and make way to many mistakes, are in Krukow’s case are delusional .

      • Matthew

        Try listening to some other teams guys….they’re worse. We have it better than you think

        • Peter Johnson

          No, You are biased, Kuiper and Miller make simple mistakes 3 times an inning, you just give them a pass, because they were great in the past , but that was the past .

          • Brownie

            No, he’s actually right. We have it better than most but I’m quickly souring on Krukow. He’s been unbearable this season and it pains me deeply to say that.

          • Matthew

            Well, of course I’m biased. I’m a Giants fan.

          • Efrain

            dude they have earned the right to make mistakes, they are old and part of the team.

            You know you don’t have to turn the radio or tv on don’t you? You could watch the Bachelor if that is your liking.

          • Moooooooooose

            No, you are biased.

        • Yes. I agree. That’s true. But sometimes Krukows back pocket sunshine, at times, is just a tad bit much, especially when we’re getting waxed.

          • Matthew

            I’m far from a Krukow fan…believe me.

            I watched the Cubs today and if we think Mike is bad, Jim DeShaies takes it to a new level of sappy homerism

          • Pure 100% unadulterated sap he is.

          • Lunch_Box

            I see your Jim Deshaies and raise you a Jeff Brantley with the Reds.

          • Matthew

            I see your tiny little Mississippian and raise you a Hawk “He Gone” Harrelson!

          • Lunch_Box

            I fold.

          • Efrain

            the Yankees announcers are awful homers too, you would think they have won more rings during the past decade.

      • Lunch_Box

        I don’t know if it’s age, but Fleming is the only one I can listen to: Kruk is such a homer that it’s unbearable and Kuiper and Miller make too many mistakes (especially with players’ names).

        • Moooooooooose

          You’ve never listened to another broadcast team, I see.

          • Lunch_Box

            I have listened, but in this context I’m only talking about the Giants’ broadcast team.

  • Brownie

    Pence is seriously making me dislike GoT song.

  • Hoona

    Heard some boo birds after that Pence strikeout. Gonna be a lot louder if they don’t play better

  • Lunch_Box

    Thankful for Cain earlier in his career, but it looks like he’s got nothing left in the gas tank. Those who thought he still had something this season is probably in the same school of evaluating talent as those employed by the Giants.

    • With Cains handsome contract, it was probably a FO directive that he be in the starting rotation.

      • Moooooooooose

        I would think you’d know why he was in the rotation.

  • Matthew

    Conroy feeling all swoll up

    • That was not a swing.

      • steve k

        gorky’s?

        • Brownie

          Affirmative

          • steve k

            looked like a swing to me

          • Brownie

            It was 50-50 to me. No one cares anymore though. A replay would have been nice

  • pacman68

    It’s funny how the Dodgers can lose their ace 3 seasons in a row and still finish in 1st.

    • Lunch_Box

      Dodgers have a deeper team and talent in the minors to help offset any injuries with the big club.

      • pacman68

        At least we have 3 WS to make me feel better.

    • Peter Johnson

      They can hit, pitching is only part of the game .

    • 12xu

      Will this be the 4th consecutive year that they’ve won the division?

      • Andres The Forever Giant

        Fifth, from 2013 on.

  • Bapah

    Sayonara. This HPU is a right sweet AHole. I’m tossing myself out and finishing that nice red I opened for that hunk of beef and shrooms I just cooked. Cast Iron Porterhouse. Part of the reason I don’t care about this nonsense.

  • Lunch_Box

    I feel bad for those fans attending the game and who paid more money for the special event item. Marketing is a b—-!

    • Matthew

      Maybe they will give out “100 Club” hats on Fan Appreciation Day!

      • Lunch_Box

        Even better: a banner hanging outside of AT&T commemorating the milestone.

        • Sgbssfg

          Futility fence. For a mere $200 donation to the Community Fund you can buy a plank.

  • Matthew

    Conroy is just trolling Cain now

  • Sgbssfg

    Does Span have reservations somewhere? 3 pitches?

    • Peter Johnson

      SO, it only takes 1 pitch to get a hit, you worried about a Pitch count on Cole !

      • Matthew

        I guess you saved up some snark while you were lurking all weekend, PJ!

        • Peter Johnson

          No, facts , Span was on base 5 times vs Cole , when the Giants beat him, so I trust him over fans, always wanting hitters to take pitches .

      • Sgbssfg

        As the leadoff hitter, I expect Span to see a few pitches.

        • Peter Johnson

          He was on base 5 times in last meeting vs Cole, he knows what he is doing . This taking pitches thing does not work. just gets you behind in the count, so Pitcher has advantage .

  • Well hopefully the Pirates will sit back on this early six run lead and put it in coast mode and the Giants can sneak up from behind and get this thing. That’s my inner Krukow talking. Just sayin.

  • Matthew

    Way to make him run it out, BC

    • Yeah I caught that. That was awesome. Kind of like a pitcher easily fielding a bunt and toying the runner up the line.

  • Hoona

    Nice play Noonie.

  • Brownie

    The 4 unearned runs don’t really matter if you can’t even score 1 run.

    • pacman68

      Agreed! They need 2 legit bats in the lineup next year to even pretend to contend.

      • Efrain

        you actually think 2 legit bats is enough to turn this around?

        So who is going to pitch?

  • Matthew

    I’m so over it that I’m gonna take a hatchet to that stupid talking redwood plank. This season sucks

    • Sgbssfg

      Beats the bleeped out truck commercial. A mute button is a good thing.

    • The Oracle

      Be happy you saw three World Series wins. You don’t get to see the Giants play well every year. If they did, how fun would being a fan really be?

      • Matthew

        I’m getting too old to trust waiting out draft picks. Plus, after the first 52 years, I’m fine with winning every damn year.

        • The Oracle

          Well, it’s never going to happen. Anger might make sense if this was just more of the same, but it isn’t. I think some of you became spoiled by all of that success.

          • Matthew

            It’s more blog artistic license. I’m not very angry…much more “resigned”

          • The Oracle

            Good. I’m sure it’s easier that way. Hope for 2020.

      • Peter Johnson

        Your false take, that Posey is having his best season since 2012, is looking bad .

        • The Oracle

          It’s kind of subjective, but he still currently has his highest BA, OBP, SLG and OPS since his MVP year.

          • Peter Johnson

            He tends to Fade , except in 2012 and 2014, in 2013, he had a higher average way more HRs and RBI at the break, then faded badly, in 2015 way more HRs and RBI and slightly lower average at break and went on a power slump in 2nd half .

          • Efrain

            man you have it bad for Posey don’t you?

            I have it bad for Belt, but he really does suck.

            Posey is the best player on the team by a mile.

          • Peter Johnson

            I am a stat guy , I like Posey have his splits memorized, Great memory and a stat guy since I was 10, so what do you want to know ?

          • The Oracle

            It certainly could happen again.

          • 12xu

            Didn’t he fade in 2014? I think no XBH in the postseason.

          • Peter Johnson

            Not in the regular season, went on a tear , hit over .400 with 10 HRs last 7 weeks of the season, to get them in the playoffs, then wore down in World Series, had lots of RBI in other playoffs, but no Power yes .

  • Brownie

    The sellout streak ended again tonight, didn’t it?

  • channelclemente

    Nightall.

    • Eleuthero

      I don’t blame you. What’s the point of another exercise in futility.

  • Brownie

    Cole’s wife looks like a playboy bunny.

    • Matthew

      Hey…that’s Crawford’s sister, sicko

      • Eleuthero

        Vice is nice but incest is best!

        • 12xu

          It’s all relative.

  • Hoona

    Ownage is ownage. Not sure what BCraw’s career numbers vs Cole is, but Crawford always seems to pick up at least one hit against him.

    • Matthew

      Au contraire…not until these last two games.

    • Peter Johnson

      Were bad before tonight .

  • Eleuthero

    Good grief!! I just tuned in and we’re back in the hole again. This season is weirder than a Kafka novel. Is the message of Cain starting that no one in the farms is even remotely ready?

    • Matthew

      The owners paid $22 million to sit at this slot machine, and they’re yanking that lever until the bank is empty

      • Eleuthero

        Good metaphor!

    • His remarkably breathtaking contract warrants a directive from the FO that he pitch.

      • Sgbssfg

        He was in the pen for a few hours until Cueto went on the DL.

        • Peter Johnson

          Yes , injuries only reason he is starting, they took Zito out of rotation in 2013 in his last year, and Timmy in 2014, but 2014 was a little different, were still in playoff race .

          • Sgbssfg

            Wonder if they should rotate all their starters through the 10 day DL to keep the mileage a little lower on those arms. I expect all of them have a sore something. Like Huddy said in 2015 when he went on the DL, “Pick one. “

      • Eleuthero

        Watch them waste Kyle Crick on mop up duty again.

    • The Oracle

      It’s no longer weird, it’s been firmly established that this is who they are.

  • Atta babe Gorkys.

  • That’s a shame.

  • Suarez pitching is a step in the right direction to get ready for the 2018 season.

    • Brownie

      They’ll wear his arm out

      • Gosh I hope not. Possibly a rotation guy next year.

        • Brownie

          He should be with Cain hopefully gone

  • Matthew

    Suave Suarez!

  • GSDUbs

    Back to question #3….

    • Matthew

      6. Does Chris Conroy have Strike Zone Dyslexia?

      • GSDUbs

        I KNEW there had to be a name for that

  • Matthew

    I do like the violence in Nunez’s swing

    • Matthew

      …and he’s thinking “Red Sox, Red Sox, Red Sox…”

      • Efrain

        Red Sox are calling up their 20 yr old 3B prospect.

  • Banksofthecreeks

    So Bochy gets thrown out for protesting a called strike — an automatic expulsion he is well aware of. What message does this send to the team? To me, it-seems like Bochy is saying “I am sick of watching you guys, I’m going to go lay down”. Is this an effective way to manage?

    • Matthew

      He was protecting Cain. That’s what the players will see

    • Hoona

      I agree, it’s just not a good look when a manager gets ejected that early in the ballgame.

      • Hoona

        Actually, I just rewatched the play, and I’d say Bochy did the right thing standing up for his player there. He didn’t go out there to get tossed, that’s for sure

  • Hoona

    WTF is Belt doing Bwahahahha. Not Top 10 play confirmed

    • Sgbssfg

      Bruce, looking for corkscrew.

  • Matthew

    Brandon Rivera

  • Can’t happen. But it did. And it reeks of bad baseball.

  • The Oracle

    Brownie’s comment that Cole’s wife looks like a Playboy Bunny gets removed?

    • Matthew

      It’s still there…

      • The Oracle

        Not on mine.

        • Brownie

          I see it

  • Brownie

    Doesn’t anyone on this team play fundamental baseball? I guess they really want the first pick.

  • This odorous season is definitely a team effort.

  • pacman68

    Belt needs a change of scenery. I’m sure he will do well somewhere else.

    • Peter Johnson

      Sorry, 70 million reasons he is staying put .

      • pacman68

        Come on Peter!! Work with me!! He needs to go!!

        • Moooooooooose

          And you’ll be the first (tied with PJ) to cry about it when he hits 35 homers for another team.

          • Foothills Rye

            He’ll have to get more aggressive to accomplish that. Always a threat for 100 walks though.

          • 2holehitting

            As there is no crying in baseball, I doubt he cries even if Belt for some reason is able to hit 25.

  • Why the hell did you just mention Suarez has gotten 11 straight batters he’s faced out? Why? We know this. WTF

    • Matthew

      It was to piss off Peter

  • Matthew

    In a fit of small sample size excitement, I want Suarez to get some starts the rest of the way

  • Hoona

    Please don’t tell me that’s Kontos warming up in the pen.

    • Brownie

      Yup

    • GSDUbs

      Kruk loves Kontos

  • Sgbssfg

    I can why the local sports channel would cover Bumgarner starts in San Jose. Pablo, not so much.

  • DrLefty

    I just asked Siri on my new phone if the Giants would win the World Series. He very helpfully replied with the line score from October 29, 2014. And there you have it.

    • totalfan62

      I asked Siri when we got our new 7.0 phones: “Siri, why do my Giants suck so badly?” I got a 30 second reply that included numbing statistics like “last in the league in HR”, etc. Hey…I asked, right?

      • DrLefty

        Well, to be fair, I changed Siri to a male British voice. Maybe he only knows from cricket, right?

  • Peter Johnson

    Kuiper I am tired of tight strike zones, hey Kuiper were you a hitter at onetime , what a joke !

  • DrLefty

    New Giants’ top 30 on MLB.com. I look forward to Footy’s comments–I know he’s not a fan of this particular list.

    http://m.mlb.com/prospects/2017?list=sf

    • DrLefty

      Kyle Crick is #17 and he’s IN THE MAJOR LEAGUES DOING WELL.

    • Matthew

      Is this supposed to be in order?? Or maybe The We Found 30 Names Of Guys In The Minors We’ve Heard Of

      • DrLefty

        Pretty much

      • Sgbssfg

        That’s my approach to My Guy. Except I only had to recognize 8 names.

    • Foothills Rye

      Looks like Wrenzies. Put Cj up there with Duggar and ahead of Garcia and it’s all good. Move Suarez up, shuffle some other names, badabing badaboom. Bryce Johnson!

  • Hoona

    Big hit by Belt here can change the outlook of the game

    • Hoona

      SMH, he is what I thought he is.

    • Matthew

      That was Full Anooh

  • What horseshit.

    • Andres The Forever Giant

      Once again, ahead in the count, 2 strikes … 🙁

  • Hoona

    Well guess what, Bellinger just hit a 3-run bomb of his own to give Dodgers the lead over the Twins 6-4. Moments after Osich gave up a 3-run HR to Mercer.

  • just peachy.

    I’ve had a craptastic day so I haven’t been watching. Just popped in, looks like business as usual. At least I can count on the Giants to be consistent. I heard something about the wave happening? And I thought the Pablo crap reeked of desperation. Peace out for at least tonight. Peachy hugs to almost everyone. Keyword: almost.

    • It wasn’t the wave. People are fighting off the seagull poop.

    • totalfan62

      Back at you, Peachy. Here’s hoping today is a better day for you.

    • RobDeer

      I miss almost all of you.

  • pacman68

    Posey and Bumgarner. Everyone else can be traded for fox pelts.

    • Lunch_Box

      Unfortunately Giants are on the hook for Crawford until the end of the 2021 season.

  • Kramerica

    Good to see that Osich and Okert look like the LH pen stalwarts the Giants need.

  • pacman68

    So who are the studs going to be in the draft next year?

    • The Oracle

      There don’t appear to be any can’t miss, Bryce Harper types, but everyone that’s going to be drafted still has more baseball to play before the draft.

  • Maybe some of the players are content with the post game meal spread, and don’t consider it necessary to watch video of the next games opposing pitcher, or watch video of themselves from the days game, or get some post game weight room, or hit the batting cages for 20 minutes, or pitchers studying the next days lineup. Maybe there’s a soft rebellion going on that we fans don’t know about. Maybe they’re fearful of seagull poop confrontation.

    • Moooooooooose

      Or maybe they are doing all of those things.

  • What a tough loss. And not the loss itself, but the bad baseball that took it there. Kontos looked sharp. Suarez looked legit. Crick competed. Gifted dollar guys can’t carry the team. Cain may have gotten squeezed, but his pitches weren’t crisp enough to overcome the keyhole treatment.