Game 158 Preview: Giants Battle Rockies in Search of Postseason Berth, Offensive Momentum

by

GreekGiant

Tonight’s Game: Rockies (73-84) Vs Giants (83-74) at Willie Mays Field, 7:15 pm
Tyler Chatwood (11-9, 4.08) vs Jeff Samardzija (12-10, 3.83)

It’s time to countdown to the final games of the regular season as the Giants face the Rockies in game 2 of their three game series tonight at Willie Mays Field. The Giants will send Jeff Samardzija to the mound against Tyler Chatwood. Chatwood rates among leaders in road winning percentage (7-1, .875) and road ERA (1.88) in Major League baseball. He already has beaten the Giants twice this year, once in San Francisco and on May 27,  in Denver, winning 5-2.

Jeff Samardzija Becomes a Dominant Force in the Starting Rotation

After last night’s offensive burst that resulted in 12 runs and an array of happy feelings, the Giants are hoping to generate some confidence and momentum in their battle for the Wild Card entry into the postseason. Jeff Samardzija has been a different pitcher since his adjustments to his mechanics. He now turns less and maintains a more compact delivery to the plate which makes his wind up easier to repeat. The athletic right-hander has mostly excellent in the second half, particularly in his last four starts where he has employed a new curve ball and change-up. The use of more off-speed pitches behind the count and more command of his fastball have together helped to turn his season around from an uneven campaign to a downright excellent inaugural year with the Giants.

Surf Maui and I are going to the Marlins – Mets game in Miami tonight so I am posting this preview earlier than usual. We will be cheering for the Marlins. I am going to have to hit the Clevelander early just to digest that last sentence!

Pennant race baseball makes for strange bedfellows indeed!

Some Questions

  1. Will the Giants bats stay hot after last night’s outburst?
  2. Who will play third base tonight for the Giants?
  3. How will Jeff Samardzija fare agains the top 4 batters of the Rockies’ potent lineup?
  4. When will Gordon Beckham make his Giants debut?
  5. Where will Joe Panik bat in the lineup?

 

 

  • Breckeroni and Jobu say:

    There should be one free for all day for MLB down the stretch because name players on the roster are pulling muscles, having migraines or going under the knife. Could call it the Surf – Maui / Greek Giant / Pacman Blue Light Special. 7 days from the end of the year. One day only. One Player only. Does not have to be on the roster on Aug 31st and IS eligible for post season. Immediately after the season ends for said team who acquires the one player – he can return to former team or stay on current club. All transactions can be voided AFTER the teams post season ends – OR – if the team does not get in per the SM-GG-P-BLS.

    The contending club can send multiple players but can only get back ONE.

    My bizarrish choice for the one player would be to acquire Pablo and let ‘er rip….

  • channelclemente
  • The Gosh Darn Greek asked: Some Questions

    How will Matt Moore bounce back from his last ignominious start against the Dodgers?
    * Honorable and loved * – The Mama Bears were in a Tizzy ~ ~ ~
    How will the Giants bats fare without Nunez in the lineup against yet another rookie?
    * Tonight will tell the tale of the tape vs Tyler Chatwood.
    How will Brandon Crawford’s swing be affected by that dislocated pinkie?
    * A little known fact is that Crawford had his little toe transplanted where his pinkie was. Ronnie Lott was there.
    Is Nolan Arenado the best player in baseball according to WAG (Wins Against the Giants)?
    * There is Nolan Arenada and Ola Arenado. Only Nolan plays against the Giants.
    Who will the Giants count on to provide that spiritual and emotional lift into the postseason?
    * Amy G and Renel turned the offer down so amazingly it will be Rocco, Klay Thompson’s dog.

    Note:
    Several moments, several balls could have ended up differently while the Gints were accruing their 12 runs:
    *Crawfords ball down the line (a) should have been fielded (b) should have been hosed at third.
    * Super Slo Mo stills show the Rox leftfielder blowing Posey’s HR over the fence.
    * The Fan named Dawg had his HUGE magnet belt when Pence hit his.
    * Belt’s Chop suey swing to Left field was honed pre game working with Lou Seal
    * Denard Span is now meditating during his swing
    * Beckham and Kelby were caught playing Poke Mon Go during the 4th inn. That can’t happen.
    * Osich had a mini camping shovel with him had Bochy come to the mound.
    * Gorkys and Jarrett have switch first names
    * Joe Panik has changed the spelling of his name to Panick
    * Gregor Blanco has offered to walk Mike Murphy’s dog in between starts
    * Tony Sanchez is a secret agent wearing Susac’s number.

  • Pick a few different strokes for different folks characters off this 1971 team and the intangible item that was AWOL – would have never gone missing.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1971_San_Francisco_Giants_season#Roster

  • channelclemente

    Intra-species violence in the mammals. Interesting, non-expected result, when compared to common wisdom(?).

    http://www.theatlantic.com/science/archive/2016/09/humans-are-unusually-violent-mammals-but-averagely-violent-primates/501935/

  • Great Play on words by The Merc’s Downtown Daniel Brown: “Gone With The Vin”
    https://uploads.disquscdn.com/images/1673820017d2ed87f22d64c23e7cebc10b89ee24b16f8ce7e68871d99b7f162b.jpg

  • The Head Melon standing in as a batter facing Cueto. Boch was watching facial expressions of JC to see if the groin strain aka “crab bite” was still hanging around. https://uploads.disquscdn.com/images/18742da9fe900826335f8a21e214c56a61b7c111b890bf84831546da7d611131.jpg

  • Matthew

    What can we do to make Jonah Arenado replicate the “Cory Seager Little Brother Talent Fountain”?

    • JoBu says offer up Rooney Mara and all will be accomplished

      • channelclemente

        Why?

        • OK then how about Zooey Deschanel

          • channelclemente

            The question goes to why, but is rapidly migrating to who cares. How’s the Canadian kickback going?

          • Was responding to Matthews question. I was thinking along the lines of an “offering” like Rum-Feathers and Cigars…

            Canadian Pharma has kept me from begging down at D’arcy McGee’s Irish Pub

          • channelclemente

            Keep up the good fight. If you can swing it, try the Greek food at Souvlake Shack on Bank Street.

  • channelclemente
  • DrLefty

    Sabean stupidly shooting off his mouth again. This will go up there in his Hall of Fame of idiot remarks with “God bless ’em, they’re not ready to be here”–about two guys (Panik and Duvall) who would both become All-Stars within two years of him saying it.

    So I’m wondering: If Belt is “not ready to be in the heart of the order”–despite leading the team in HRs, doubles, extra base hits, slugging percentage, OBP, OPS, and wRC+ and being second in RBIs (four behind Crawford)–than who IS? This comment suggests horrible roster construction, and that’s on Sabean and his boy Evans.

    Also: Even if you think that, why say it? Why throw Belt under the bus and diss him publicly? What in the world does that accomplish?

    Terrible, terrible leadership at a moment the Giants are fighting for a postseason berth–and Belt’s actually been hitting pretty well:

    Last 28 days: .268/.409/.465/.874
    Last 14 days: .282/.404/.538/.943
    Last 7 days: .313/.450/.563 /1.013

    What a moronic thing to do.

    http://www.csnbayarea.com/giants/sabean-belt-probably-isnt-cut-out-middle-order-yet

    • “His boy” – yikes, in our recent racial discord…..

      Knowing Sabes a bit, YOU think he would intentional “put out” verbiage for peeps to slice and dice him like you have. I mean, he’s much more intelligent person than that and sadly you are aware of that.

      Belt does not have prototypical nor classic 3-4-5 spots in the order hitting mechanics, regardless of what the stats say. – but Sabes does know that Bochy likes him in the 2Hole or 6th hole. Belt has been My Guy from before day one when Doug Mapson lived out of Motel Six’s following BB9 from Juco to UT. Right now he is fine in the second spot in the lineup.

      Also Your Guy Mac Williamson fell into disfavor among 4-8 coaches including Will Clark because after Posey was asked to mentor MW – he instead – decided to live on his Wake Forrest pedigree and AA and AAA resume instead of shortening his swing. After he pulled his quad in San Diego, he waited to the flight home to inform the trainers. Can you say Chris Dominguez?

      SMH.

    • channelclemente

      Seems to have worked. Maybe it’ll serve to immunize him against Gumby shoulder inflection…. I don’t actually see any evidence that rah rah works in professional baseball.

      • DrLefty

        For the record, I love Belt hitting second. It makes sense on a lot of levels. But why not just do that and stand behind your guy?

        • channelclemente

          Because every other style of encouragement hasn’t worked?

          • DrLefty

            He’s the all-around best hitter on the team this year.

          • Objectively or Subjectively?

            Let me ring up Efrain 212-BB9-2HOLE

          • paul in p.v.

            No wonder Belt-bashing is so popular. The F.O. and Mgr. have been doing it for what? 4 years??

            But I think that in a perverse way, it does work with Bob. He’s a bit of an odd duck, and I think he responds to this kind of bullshit.

          • DrLefty

            His OPS for the month is .874. He was doing fine before Sabean went on the radio yesterday.

          • paul in p.v.

            Sabes fell off the wagon.

          • Nothing phases a guy with Elmer Glue shaded legs and a drawl from Nacogdoches.

            https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jHl_7WHZbzg

          • Scout Finch Baseball

            best all-around wRC+er, powered by BB% and pretty good ISO.

            Best hitter usually results in the higher batting averages, and usually by hitter with lower K rate. Buster Posey owns this distinction.

          • DrLefty

            Well, you can parse it out how you like. Belt’s hit for a lot more power and has a better OBP than Posey does, and, of course, has more HRs and RBIs. If you want to say batting average and strikeouts are the only thing that matters, I guess Posey’s been a better hitter.

            By the way, Pence’s K rate is only slightly lower than Belt’s.

          • paul in p.v.

            Rolls it over to SS these days. Not as bad as, “Another 4-3 putout.” That guy’s in the dugout sitting next to Casilla in my world.

          • Bases Loaded – Two Out and 3-2 pitch and down by a run. Loser goes home.

            Who does Lefty want up at the plate?

          • paul in p.v.

            GREAT question.

            1. Joe Panik
            2. Bob Belt
            3. Hunterpence
            4. Matt Duffy (oh…)

          • winebaroness27

            KT???

          • 🙂

          • I choose Buster Posey

          • 610nm

            I think I’d choose Brandon Crawford.

          • channelclemente

            That’s not saying much. How many ways does he have to asked to cut his K% and hit to left field?

          • DrLefty

            I think publicly trashing your own player is a sign of a bad person and a terrible leader.

          • paul in p.v.

            I don’t think what he said was a ‘public trashing’ – it wasn’t pretty – but I’ll bet Bob and some chums on the team get together and make fun of the idiotic management of the club in more forthright terms.

          • negatory

          • channelclemente

            Maybe, maybe not. I think Gumby shoulders, and all that connotes, in front 40,000+ fans on national TV has to be rectified, but even more Belt’s head is as hard as limestone, and sometimes to get a mules attention, you have to wack in up side the head, as they say, before you can move forward.

            I suspect Sabean let what he sees as an issue percolate as long as he could, and reacted. Maybe he called Belts college coach, because he got whacked there a bit I’ve heard as well. The origin of Belt’s nickname at UT.

            https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aG5ZDNnR6s8

          • Matthew

            Bingo…

          • Well, you’ve been wrong before ….

        • winebaroness27

          I preferred Panik but Belt is proving me wrong..
          Doing a great job hitting 2nd.
          Yea !!

          • winebaroness27

            I’m just so happy Bochy finally has split up that unholy alliance of Spangel…
            That was a total curse…
            6-6-6

    • PPS: Moronic: Is there a higher ceiling than MLB? Belt and others have always gotten over it….

    • standardstarboard

      Maybe his remarks are intended to tweak the players a bit. His is in a better position to do that, versus Bochy. That is the only acceptable explanation for me.

      • DrLefty

        So here’s the thing. They just signed Belt to a pricey five-year extension. Whether he hits the same (and his numbers this year are in line with his career averages), better, or like Denard Span, he’s still going to get his money. I’m not really sure how publicly trashing him does anything except demotivate him and cause further distrust between players and management.

        • paul in p.v.

          I think they have high hopes/expectations for Belt, and are trying to light a fire under him (in a perverse way).

          Span – I bet they get drunk together and scream ‘Who’s idea was that anyway?!?’

          • paul in p.v.

            Sabes also took the time to trash the bullpen. Maybe he just woke up from a long nap.

          • DrLefty

            Fine. Trash “the bullpen,” but not “Casilla” (or Osich, or whoever). Trash “the underperforming offense,” but don’t single out ONE guy–and if you do, don’t single out the guy who’s been one of your most productive hitters the whole year. That’s just stupid.

          • paul in p.v.

            I defer to your passionate defense of Bob. (Seriously.)

          • DrLefty

            I’d feel that way regardless of which player it was. I just don’t think treating your players like that is a good way to run an organization.

          • Matthew

            I don’t want this to sound all “Mr. Macho”, but I believe Sabean and others believe their core guys wear big boy pants, and they feel quite satisfied with how they run the org. It may not be the way you would (I believe Belt HAS been jacked around alot…) but I think they are who they are and with their success, feel vindicated about those choices.

            Also, he grew up under George, and has that NY abrasive nature. It’s not everyone’s cup of tea, but I’ll take it over the quieter methods of Evans sometimes

          • Bingo.

          • channelclemente

            Belt, in many ways, is self jacking.

          • They are Big Boys. They take it the way they should.

          • Efrain

            it’s a professional sports team of grown men, not a boy scout troop, although I know most of you love the Giants to appear to all look alike and be nice boys.

    • Scout Finch Baseball

      .232 avg. 2nd half – with .395 SLG – just 6 HRs

      maybe that’s where frustration stems – wanting him to be a middle order guy to help carry team when others are down.

      • Peter Johnson

        Posey’s SLG% was lower, and with 3 HRs .

    • Matthew

      I think it depends on how Belt takes it, not us. I know that the organization must sometimes feel that certain methods motivate certain players. Plus, I don’t know that any player on the team outside pence has shown they are a 3-4-5 THIS season.

      Belt’s career will be somewhere between a 2 hitter and 6 hitter, and I doubt it matters that much to him. That’s my guess

      • DrLefty

        I think Sabean just went on the radio and shot off his mouth. It wasn’t the first time and it won’t be the last. But I don’t respect that at all.

        • paul in p.v.

          He shoulda been in the Mgr’s office screaming his head off 2 months ago. THAT might have had a better effect.

          • winebaroness27

            Kinda stupid to call Belt out..
            He should have been ripping Bochy a new one…

          • Matthew

            So, you guys think the President should PUBLICLY criticize the Manager? That’s absurd. None of us know how many times he’s yelled at him in private, and that’s where it stays

            Players get “called out” in public. Managers? If they do, they are fired. Bochy isn’t getting fired

          • winebaroness27

            Privately would be fine

          • Matthew

            …and I’m sure it has happened. Those are big, competitive egos. No one has been happy with this stretch, but we are lucky enough to follow a team that keeps their laundry private

          • paul in p.v.

            We don’t know shit, that’s for sure.

          • paul in p.v.

            I didn’t say “PUBLICLY.”

          • Matthew

            Well, someone else did.

          • Please this is not Kitty Kitty territory…

        • It wouldn’t be the first time you mistakenly did not respect somebody from the Giants or some professional athlete…

        • channelclemente

          You complain about Giants management not saying anything of substance, then you jump there case because they do. Sabean just told you Belts evaluation. Instead of carping about knowing what they think, why not argue with the reasoning as opposed to this “feelings’ nonsense.

      • The Oracle

        I’m sure Belt loved it. Who doesn’t enjoy a compliment? Panik’s proudest moment was when Sabean said “bless his heart, he’s not ready for this.”

        • paul in p.v.

          That quote referred to Panik, Duvall, and someone else (can’t remember) who apparently really wasn’t ready…

          • The Oracle

            I think it was just Panik and Duvall.

    • earlytimes

      But he didn’t mean it in a negative way…

    • winebaroness27

      Does that mean the Giants plan to pursue someone in the off season that can hit in the
      heart of the order…??
      Cespedes..??
      ha ha fat chance…

      • Chris Shaw….

        • Kramerica

          He had a .722 OPS in Richmond. I don’t *quite* think he’s ready to an MLB middle of the order bat yet.

          • paul in p.v.

            Not quite…

        • paul in p.v.

          My Man.

    • Lunch_Box

      Tim Flannery is hoping Sabes uses the words, “Lunatic Fringe” again so he may help market his act in this year’s Hardly Strictly Bluegrass Festival.

    • Efrain

      Ever heard of a manager / coach / superior lighting a fire under a guys behind?

      Yeah its a thing if you ever played sport.

      You don’t hold their hand like it’s a walk in the park. Plus fact Belt is soft in the first place.

      • DrLefty

        Sure. I’ve seen Sabean do it before, publicly shaming Sandoval after 2010 and Aubrey Huff in 2011. How’d that work? I’ll save you looking it up–it didn’t. Huff had an even worse year in 2012 and had a nervous breakdown. Sandoval is yo-yoing his weight to this day and probably always will, and he cited the constant fat-shaming as a major reason why he left the Giants with hard feelings.

        So whatever Sabean thought he was accomplishing there–he failed.

        Then there were his stupid comments about Panik and Duvall in July 2014. Less than four months later, Panik had helped spark them to another title and a year later, he was an All-Star. Two years later, Duvall was an All-Star and has hit 33 HRs.

        Sabean’s an idiot, and it’s a terrible way to treat anyone in any organization. He should keep his mouth shut.

        • Matthew

          Lefty, I think that’s quite assumption…you are blaming Sabean for any of Pablo’s meltdowns or Huff’s? They are grown men who are in the most competitive jobs I know and either they can do it or they can’t. As for Panik, if you blame Sabes for the failures of the others, then maybe credit him for sparking Panik… We all react different to criticism. Athletes go through it from the time they are little kids. I did. As a little kid, I hated it, but I personally ended up well served in learning competitiveness, how to win, how to lose.

          Belt is well compensated, starting member of an iconic organization. I see him treated different but I have no idea if part of that/ most of that is on him.

          I heard a story…2nd hand -last night that a team lawyer shared that explained a bit about Mac. Guess what? His not playing appears to be on him and his poor attitude. Is it true? I don’t know…but what if it is? What do we know out here as to what happens in there? Who works hardest? Who acts spoiled or stubborn? Who earns rope and respect and who doesn’t?

          I don’t think Sabean’s statement was nearly as disrespectful as you do. Even if it was, welcome to the big leagues. Get over it, Brandon. It’s not as if he has been incredible in the 3-4-5, regardless of anyone else

          • DrLefty

            No, I’m not blaming anyone for how particular players do. I’m just disagreeing with the idea that a GM publicly shaming a player is a good idea. It’s a dumb idea.

            As for your secondhand gossip about Mac–well, back at you. You’re repeating gossip like it’s true and at the same time saying “we don’t know.” Is that fair, to badmouth a young player based on hearsay?

            I’m going to take a wild guess, and you don’t have to confirm or deny if you don’t want to. Your “source” is a diehard Bochy-is-always-right flag waver. If Mac’s a bad guy, that lets Bochy off the hook for burying him.

          • Matthew

            To be clear…it was my son talking with a front office person. Yes, “gossip” I guess. We’ll see. My point stand – we only know crumbs if what’s up.

          • Nice try Dana. LOL @ flag waver….

            I NEVER EVER have uttered that Bochy is always right. That must be your professorial Hollywood License liberties talking or some Apple Plum Wine…

            My guy was Fregosi and or Pinella. Never been a fan of Bochy once the game started but you must not be able to admit stuff when you are wrong, which is quite a bit.

          • paul in p.v.

            Mateo – your Mac ‘rumor’ – if it is one – has a ? mark after it. WTF does that mean.

          • paul in p.v.

            Also – from an attorney? A real baseball guy, ne?

          • Matthew

            Paul, I don’t throw rumors around…I used the wrong word. When a team front office person who has access and knowledge of the clubhouse, in discussing if there is something wrong in the clubhouse says there is “one who stands out” and who ” didn’t even listen to Posey ” and who “players are over his terrible attitude”….

          • paul in p.v.

            Ah. But you left that sheet out…

          • Matthew

            I know, sorry!

        • Girls don’t same to get it.

      • thefarnz

        I agree Efrain (I know, yada, yada, yada). Over the years its easy enough to see that Belt seems to be sleep-walking, in a trance, almost lackadaisical. They’ve surely tried other ways of motivation hoping to get to the ember of fire inside. Perhaps this is a last ditch effort. IF, and its big IF, he can be this good slumping along with gumby shoulders, think what he could do highly motivated! He could carry a team for the year.

      • Bingo

  • DrLefty

    Giants’ September hitting (OPS only for the sake of brevity):

    Pence .963
    Belt .874
    Nunez .774
    Posey .680
    Crawford .646
    Span .558
    Panik .525
    Pagan .524

    So yes, I can totally see why Sabean felt the need to go on the radio on Sept. 27 and diss Belt. Totally makes sense.

    • Only one person took it as a “diss”

    • Scout Finch Baseball

      Belt’s attorney, on retainer: if the batting glove does not fit, you must acquit.

      • Sad that Johnny Cochran went to the big court house in the sky

    • The Oracle

      I missed it. What did he say?

        • The Oracle

          How about a summary?

          • “At this stage of Brandon’s development he probably is not cut out for the heart of the order *Just Yet* – so 2-6-7 might be best for now”

          • The Oracle

            And that’s not a diss? Belt has outperformed Posey in 2016, and Posey’s batted in the heart of the order every time he’s played.

          • channelclemente

            He’s hitting .400 in the 2hole, and .329 in the 6hole.

          • If one knows Sabean’s personality he either:
            (1) Doesn’t care
            (2) Preference it with….the disclaimer
            (3) Did not consider it a diss

            Out of context = diss
            In context = not a diss

          • The Oracle

            It was a clear statement. It doesn’t require context.

          • channelclemente

            EVERYTHING requires context to understand.

          • If the exact quote had been posted by the OP then you are correct. Having said that Sabean said nothing out of the ordinary.

            You’re comparing Belt with how Posey is kid-glove handled?

            Chortle.

          • Efrain

            Posey may have played hurt part of the year and plays the most grueling position on the field (post his big injury), Belt plays 1B what’s his excuse?

          • DrLefty

            What exactly does he need an excuse for?

          • Efrain

            playing a position that teams have historically hidden their worst fielders/older guys because it’s not a taxing position that’s why (John Kruk, Boog Powell, etc.).

            His numbers aren’t even as good as a guy you hate, Melky Cabrera, who mostly bats 2nd for the White Sox.

          • DrLefty

            I hate Melky Cabrera? I think he’s the best left fielder the Giants have had since Bonds. I loved watching him play.

          • Efrain

            ok I guess I was wrong……but many here were elated he was never brought back. I said then he should have been the Giants LF for a decade. Look what has transpired since. We did win without him, yes, but the Russian roulette in LF is getting tiring.

          • DrLefty

            It really is. Every year on Opening Day I do a “Name every Opening Day left fielder since Bonds” thing. It’s a different one every single year for 10 years! It was that way with 2B for a long time until Panik arrived.

            Funny thing is that Melky is not actually on the list. He opened in RF in 2012 and ended up in left later.

          • paul in p.v.

            He was awesome. Then, he was gone. Then, los Gigantes won with Gregor in LF. (Morris too!) :o)

          • Michael Scott

            He said that Belt had bad posture,mixed his peas and mashed potatoes together, and was a second rate blogger.

    • Kramerica

      As long as Span and Pagan play everyday I’m happy. Although I’m ready for Span to be the 2016 postseason Edgar Renteria…

    • Michael Scott

      OPS is not terribly relevant if it’s for the whole month, a guy could be cold early in the month and hitting well now. Of course any player could go off at anytime, but since we are not fortune tellers, recent history is the best we can do. My guy Belt still leads the pack

      Posey ..862
      Belt .943
      Panik .490
      Crawford .914
      Pagan .536
      Span .911
      Pence .796′
      Nunez .774 ( he’s the same for 14 days as he is for 28)
      Hernandez .498

      • DrLefty

        I put Belt’s splits for 7, 14, and 28 days below.

        • Michael Scott

          I put 14 day splits- do you have a problem with those? I’m totally on aboard with Belt. As I showed, I agree with you on “our guy”..

  • Carmot reminiscing about Team Belt a few seasons back – before, prior to and after some injuries

    http://aroundthefoghorn.com/2015/02/09/san-francisco-giants-bat-brandon-belt-third-numbers-tell-story/

  • Scout Finch Baseball

    Only one game on the radio docket earlier today, and it seems like the Astros hopes are dashed.

    Doug Fister with his shortest outing of the year and his skipper had one heck of a quick hook.
    Better luck with injuries next year – they need pitching (healthy veteran pitching), but they still have loads of young talent.
    Any chance for a Giants/Astros trade? We’d gladly take George Springer off your hands…

    Other notes for that game, Robbie Cano’s 36th HR was the knife in Fister’s gut that could not be staunched.

    • DrLefty

      Before the season, I thought the Astros would win the AL pennant this year

      • 22’sSweetSwing

        Dr. Lefty if you are online check your email for a chance to see tonight’s game in person.

  • Yikes 14 years ago http://m.mlb.com/video/topic/76108760/v1167373283

    For a large bag of M and M’s who is hugging Livan in the dugout?

    • Matthew

      Send one bag to me and another to Scott Eyre

    • Note: Nen hung one to Albert Pujols. Sometimes they go far and sometimes – grab some pine meat.

    • winebaroness27

      I’m starting to appreciate Nunez more…
      but why would anyone ever throw him a strike?

      • Agreed. After they first got him I saw how impatient he was on pitch one and pitch two in the dirt and he was immediately down 0 and 2 in every at bat.
        Muelens-Decker and Will Clark and really fixed that part – UNLESS – he’s UP at the plate with RISP and he reverts back to swinging at the rosin bag…

    • Lunch_Box

      2002 Giants bench was terrible: Shinjo, Goodwin and Dunston.

    • Efrain

      is that cuz all black guys look alike to you? 😉 lolz

      • Nice try. Carmot and MLBSF were into facial resemblences

  • Sabean actually said: “At this stage of Brandon’s (Belt) development he probably is not cut out for the heart of the order *Just Yet* – so 2-6-7 might be best for now………”

    • channelclemente

      His splits seem to relegate the comment about Belt from Sabean to stating the obvious.

    • refresh

    • Efrain

      hahahah I’ve been saying that all along…….

      Belt is not a 3-4-5 hitter, but all the fanboys here think he is the second coming of Will Clark or even regard him as better.

      Suckers.

      • Eric Ritz

        Literally nobody has ever said Belt is better than Will Clark. Your gimmick is tiresome.

  • The Oracle

    It seems a pretty sure bet that if the Giants miss the post season, it’ll only be by one or two games. If that happens, it’s going to be directly attributable to the boneheaded moves of Bruce Bochy.

    • channelclemente

      LOL.

    • Amen. The Melon has Melonitis and so far the vaccine has not arrived from CAL Berkeley’s Livermore Labs.

      Footy is working on it down in the valley.

    • Matthew

      Though I believe Bochy hasn’t been as strong this year, how many do you attribute to players not performing at expected levels?

      • channelclemente

        It’s all Bochy’s fault. Even the economy and breakdown of the family.

      • The Oracle

        It’s one thing when the game is lost on the field. That’s how it’s supposed to work. It’s another when the manager makes a poor decision that ruins what’s happened on the field. As we’ve all seen, Bochy’s done that far too often in 2016.

        • channelclemente

          Sheer nonsense.

          • The Oracle

            I apologize for criticizing the one you love. A good manager enhances the players’ chances of winning. He doesn’t ruin them.

          • channelclemente

            A good manager wins WS titles. But more to the point is that your comments are just shallow, not insightful, and generally ignorant of the reality. All rancor, and no substance. You’re a nitpicker by choice. Goodness knows there are things to learn from the Giants misfortunes this year. Some impact Bochy, some the decision process, and why players failed in the 2nd half. You take the easy, lazy way out of explaining a really interesting event in a teams season, a complete meltdown. It’s easy and intellectually dishonest.

        • Michael Scott

          Bochy wants to be fired,And why not? He’d get paid millions to do what we do.Bitch Bitch Bitch

        • Stay in the here and now….
          Five games left….
          They won last night….
          You sound like you wish for them to lost tonight…

        • Huge amount of thumbs Up you got @ LOL

  • 22’sSweetSwing

    Dr. Lefty if you are online check your email for a chance to see tonight’s game in person.

    • Ham & Egging It

      I expect Fernandez’s 2 friend’s families to file civil claims against the Fernandez estate. Its how these incidents play out. Its apparent the decision to go out that night was JF’s. A lower level man slaughter charge most likely. Who was steering the boat is something the lawyers will reconstruct.

      • Peter Johnson

        Fernandez never made big money

        • Ham & Egging It
          • Peter Johnson

            He made a little more this year 2.8 Million then I thought, and had a 2 Million signing bonus, but could of made lots more then that, the Marlins offered him a big raise in a contract extension, but his agent is Scott Boras and he turned it down .

          • Ham & Egging It

            Who knew?

          • Kramerica

            I also *assume* and hope he had a sizable life insurance policy. While the policy would be part of his gross estate it wouldn’t be part of his probate estate. So not sure if that $6.5M figure included any life insurance policies or not but if it didn’t there should be more for his unborn child to inherit.

          • Ham & Egging It

            Great point.

      • Kramerica

        They will have to establish JF was driving the boat. If they can’t establish that don’t see how there’s a case for wrongful death. Certainly wouldn’t be a case for involuntary manslaughter if it can’t be established that JF was driving the boat. JF was a very popular figure in that community, DA won’t touch that case unless he/she can clearly establish he was driving the boat.

        • Ham & Egging It

          The fact that the boat was his will be a big factor.

          • Kramerica

            Maybe, but didn’t one of his friends (or friend of a friend) say he never drives the boat and always needed someone who would come out with him? Not sure whether that’s the case. In any event, even though he owned the boat, it will be hard to establish he was driving. Although that may not stop the families of the other two on the boat from bringing a claim against JF’s estate and trying to get a settlement. Just a sad, sad story all the way around.

          • Ham & Egging It

            People sue one another in this country over questionable circumstances everyday. Settlements are hashed out just to avoid losing big money.
            http://sports.yahoo.com/blogs/nhl-puck-daddy/espn-anchor-suing-ice-rink-after-coin-machine-cuts-her-arm-165533702.html

          • The Oracle

            It would be extremely impolite of the families to sue the hero’s estate simply because he killed their family members.

          • …he cracked…

        • The Oracle

          The DA won’t touch the case because Fernandez is dead. There’s no one to prosecute.

          • thefarnz

            A mere bump in the road for our litigious society

  • Giants PreGame Notes
    http://mlb.mlb.com/documents/9/9/0/203896990/9.28.16_vs._COL_uma9elfd.pdf

    This Date in Giants History: September 28, 1993

    The Giants reclaimed a share of first place in the NL West with the Braves, as SF defeated Colorado, 6-4…Will Clark hit his 14th homer of the season, Rod Beck earned his 45th save, and the Giants won their 100th game of the season.

    • crawnik

      Tonight, the Giants will reclaim a share of the WC with a win over Colorado.

  • More reminders that there is a Big Guy somewhere Up There as The Cards Dias, best friend to Jose hits his first Grand slam of his career last night.

    http://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/mlb/2016/09/28/aledmys-diaz-jose-fernandez-grand-slam/91207998/

    And now this
    http://abc7news.com/sports/bag-of-jose-fernandez-signed-baseballs-washes-up-on-miami-beach/1528412/

  • Good night Allen and remember when in doubt about *Anything Giant* visit the Oracle

    https://uploads.disquscdn.com/images/1f1ec5f5440ea618de609feddab2b2b2fbd815ae844d1147086e27471a69ea16.png

    The Oracle character in The Matrix franchise. Both times portrayed by two female fictional characters – Gloria Foster in the first and second film and Mary Alice in the third film.

  • steve k

    we have tickets for a show, tomorrow night. i think tonight, to get in the mood, i’ll have a bourbon, a scotch, and a beer.

    • Scout Finch Baseball

      Thoroughly good George?

      Out the door I went!

      • steve k

        yes…can’t wait to see the one the nurses said..”leave this one alone”

  • channelclemente
  • paul in p.v.
    • goodsam73

      oh sweet michael and all the archangels brisbee went through ALL NINE OF THE BLOWN SAVES ….where’s my paper bag ? i’m hyperventilating

      • DrLefty

        Actually he left out the one in Colorado a few weeks ago where he came in with a two-run lead, two runs were charged to him, but he didn’t get charged with the blown save because someone else let the runner score. That’s a blown save in my book, and that makes ten.

        • goodsam73

          am headed to the kitchen to look for a sharp object

          • 610nm

            Don’t do it!

          • thefarnz

            It is crystal clear when presented like that!

        • paul in p.v.

          It occurred to me that some pain was missing from the article.

        • Michael Scott

          “but he didn’t get charged with the blown save because someone else let the runner score.” it’s the same rule for everyone, but I do like your idea of making up our own rules.Stay tuned- new list just around the corner.

          • DrLefty

            I understand the rule. I disagree with it. If you have a two-run lead and two runs are charged to your ERA, that should be a blown save. I’d say that regardless of who it is.

          • Michael Scott

            I like your idea. So what’s the problem? i love making up rules.

          • Matthew

            I think Samardzija has 11 blown saves

    • DrLefty

      I’d say either around the second week of June, by which time he had four blown saves and two other losses, or at the absolute latest, after the balk-off loss. That was the worst outing (can’t call it an “inning” because he didn’t get any outs) I’ve ever seen from a closer. Benitez got traded in 2007 after doing something similar (though he didn’t balk in the winning run).

      • thefarnz

        Don’t forget the ‘pouty face’ episode

        • DrLefty

          Yes–good call. He didn’t get a blown save in that one because Bochy yanked him when Lamb came up and let Lopez close. But that was in May, which is why I’d say by the second week of June, Bochy should have seen enough.

          • goodsam73

            i saw enough after that falling balk thing

      • paul in p.v.

        Interesting that Grant also left out the hissy-fit Casilla threw on the mound before that disaster…

        • DrLefty

          Yep, good point.–and ranted to reporters after the game, too.

        • Michael Scott

          At least Casilla was a good citizen and apologized. Bochy accepted. It’s over.

    • Michael Scott

      He sure energized the choir.

      • thefarnz

        Speaking non-electorally, this was just the facts.

        • Michael Scott

          Are we still on Brisbee? i never have a problem with facts. I pretty much got it right away. Maybe it took you longer.

          • thefarnz

            A little slow on the uptake, I am.

  • Max

    Reds 2-0 on some guy I’ve never heard of with a 2 run single…

  • channelclemente

    Setting aside disagreement about issues to preserve peace and tranquility here, The Arizona Republican endorsed Clinton today. Since the papers inception in 1890, it has never endorsed a Democrat.

    http://www.azcentral.com/story/opinion/editorial/2016/09/27/hillary-clinton-endorsement/91198668/

    • paul in p.v.

      Holy sheet.

    • Max
      • goodsam73

        well as a cincy ex-pat i can tell you THAT is really something ! heck they didn’t even endorse FDR !!!

    • Speak Easy

      I come to this blog to enjoy Giants talk and get away from politics. As a resident of AZ I can tell you the Republic has become more and more liberal, so this is not a complete surprise. Their argument is that Trump is not really a conservative, and not qualified. Uh… okay.

      • channelclemente

        LOL. I make no editorial comment. But that endorsement was quite a surprise, regardless of one’s political persuasion.

        • Matthew

          It’s not necessarily…editorial board have shifted their attitudes dramatically , and it has little to do with Trump.

          • channelclemente

            …or everything to do with him.

          • Matthew

            I’m making a point that, regardless of who any republicans are, editorial boards are leaning 90% liberal. In many cases it doesn’t. I believe that. I understand many people think it’s 100% him. I feel it’s , in some cases, liberal panic. I’m out -I don’t want to ignite a firestorm of hate mail

          • channelclemente

            That’s anything but a liberal or progressive editorial board as I’d define such an entity.

          • Matthew

            Oh, I understand that it hasn’t been. That world changed. That’s all I’m saying. As crazy as it sounds, it’s almost a dead heat and the freak out is on. Maybe it should be

        • Michael Scott

          I’d like to respond but not if you ask me mean questions.

          • channelclemente

            I promise.

  • Scout Finch Baseball

    The “Replace-Mets” up 5-2 in the 9th. Grandyman can. Bruce is loose and so is the loony, Loney.

  • just peachy.

    Aw man, Duffy stopped by the clubhouse today and he forgot to tell me?

    • Scout Finch Baseball

      No reverse cowgirl for the Duff Man.

      • channelclemente

        Do you have any idea how tasteless that comment is with that picture on your avatar?

        • Scout Finch Baseball

          Thank you.

    • just peachy.

      I wonder if he’ll be at the Willie Mac award ceremony. I wonder if he is if I’d be able to watch without crying. And flicking my bean.

      Juuuuuuust kidding guys. Don’t mind me. I can’t take me anywhere.

      • Matthew

        Yikes. Now you’re scaring me…

        • just peachy.

          I’m going to blame it on hump day. I’m going to keep it PG for like at least the next 2 days.

          • Moooooooooose

            I think you’re getting a little too comfortable in here, peachy!

  • channelclemente

    Reds still up 2-1 in 7th.

  • Sgbssfg

    What is Kelby doing checking out the suite level displays?

  • just peachy.

    This dude’s saying if the smurfs don’t keep Justin Turner, there would be the possibility of trying to get Longoria from the Rays, unless the Braves offer a higher price for him:
    http://inningseaters.sportsblog.com/posts/26529917/are-the-tampa-bay-rays-ready-to-trade-evan-longoria-.html

    • thefarnz

      Justin Turner would be a good addition to the Giants.

      • just peachy.

        Too much orange on one dude if he got added. Also, no selfies allowed.

      • Matthew

        Because he’s old?

        • thefarnz

          No, because he fits the seasoned ‘vet’ mold.

          • Matthew

            I actually like the guy, but don’t tell anyone. He made them way better

          • Sgbssfg

            Aren’t some posters concerned he might have enhanced his performance this season?

          • Matthew

            It’s a ritual…I liked that he was signed as a nobody and yanked the job away from others a few years back. I like those stories of grinders

          • thefarnz

            X-actly

      • Moooooooooose

        Unless he stops juicing once he gets his big payoff going into his age 32(?) season.

  • channelclemente

    Samardzija looks pretty sharp in the first.

    • 610nm

      and will have Arenado hitting with no one on base.

  • Sgbssfg

    Value of Span, veteran confidence to slow down the pitcher, Belt could learn from that.

    • The Oracle

      Span is tremendously valuable.

  • BALDHEADSLIKK

    Does Denard not steal bases anymore

    • Sgbssfg

      Apparently not.

    • Matthew

      Way to go, Slikk

      • BALDHEADSLIKK

        I knew it was coming

      • BALDHEADSLIKK

        I’m going to down vote myself

    • DrLefty

      12 SBs, 7 CS now for the year. Yet another thing he doesn’t do well (or no longer does well).

      If only we had a guy on the roster with 40 stolen bases this year who could have been leading off instead. Wouldn’t it be great to have a guy like that?

  • goodsam73

    dontcha just love fogball….”a high fly ball thru the fog….” thank you mr. miller

  • carl hamilton

    Everything is up with Shark. Not good also getting squeezed

    • Matthew

      Lamaze breathing suggested, brother…

    • BALDHEADSLIKK

      That’s what number 4 pictures do from time to time they’re going to be up

      • thefarnz

        Only in the NL. In the AL they’re never up

  • BALDHEADSLIKK

    Denard’s insect arm strikes again

    • Matthew

      I’m still shocked at how incredibly bad his arm is every time I see him throw.

      • BALDHEADSLIKK

        It’s actually embarrassing

  • carl hamilton

    Bochy dont u get it!!! Span has no arm!!!!

    • The Oracle

      He loves the gray in Span’s beard. He’s hoping it gets even grayer in 2017.

  • DrLefty

    Another runner in scoring position thanks to Span.

    • channelclemente

      Banana cream, or chocolate?

    • No brainer

    • Matthew

      I have a stat that he leads the league :

      DRUI – defensive runs ushered in

    • LOL blame it on one player

  • No brainier.

  • carl hamilton

    Para giant killer

  • Moooooooooose

    Reds Cards on Yahoo Free Game of the Day. Molina HBP, 2 on 1 out B8

  • Moooooooooose

    WP. 2nd & 3rd.

    • Peter Johnson

      I hate bad news , your the kind of guy that likes to give bad news .

      • Moooooooooose

        Just the facts. This is too important

      • Matthew

        Gotta face life, Peter.

  • Moooooooooose

    Piscotty Ks – 2 out

  • Atta babe Smarge.

  • Moooooooooose

    Pheralta 5-3 we go to 9th, 2-1 Reds

    • steve k

      that kid iglesias looked good

  • Moooooooooose

    Reds have 1st & 3rd with 2 outs in the top on the 9th

  • Moooooooooose

    Votto’s up, Duvall’s on deck.

  • Moooooooooose

    Votto flies out to left on 3-0 pitch.

    • Guy is 0-4 and gets the green light on Duke who can’t throw strikes. Yep.

  • Max

    Votto the goat tonight if Reds blow this.

    • Matthew

      He’s just not ready for the 3 spot

  • DrLefty

    OMG, does Pagan ever even TRY to get shallow fly balls? Span always gives up the extra base, Pagan always stands there and watches balls fall in. The two of them together are SO AWFUL. I feel sorry for the pitchers.

    • And other teams know this. We’re lucky Wolters is not on second.

    • goodsam73

      not any more apparently — and we wonder why there could be some clubhouse “issues”

    • Well, he can’t go back on balls either.

    • Crucify

  • Moooooooooose

    1-2 to the leadoff hitter. Now 2-2

  • Moooooooooose

    Wong triples, misplayed by RF

    • Matthew

      We gotta get you going

    • 610nm

      What’s the protocol here? A down arrow for the triple isn’t such a nice thing to do to a Moooooooose,

  • Moooooooooose

    Diaz up , 1-0

  • Moooooooooose

    1-1

  • Moooooooooose

    5-3, 1 out. Wong stays at third

    • Matthew

      Is Dibble closing?

  • Moooooooooose

    Iglesias up infield in

  • Moooooooooose

    She had no idea why the crowd was cheering. Wait, I scrolled down by accident.

  • Moooooooooose

    Fly to shallow left. Duvall in to make the catch. Wong holds at third.

    • Matthew

      C’mon, Mooooooose …you can do this

  • Moooooooooose

    Gyorko up with 2 outs. 0-3 on the day w’ 2 ks

  • Moooooooooose

    Ball 1

  • Moooooooooose

    2-0

  • Atta babe Buster.

  • Max

    YES! Reds.

    • Moooooooooose

      YOU SCOOPED ME!!!

      • Max

        Soooorry moose

    • Hoona

      How did they blow that?

      • Max

        Could have an affect…like a blown save?

        • Blown saves little brother. Leave the runner at third with no outs.

    • Matthew

      What??? Gyorko out? Ball game?

      • Jacob Singer

        Ovahhh.

      • Moooooooooose

        ballgame

  • Jacob Singer

    Strikeemoutthrowemout side retired.

  • Max

    Put Inglesias on the xmas card list.

  • Atta babe Connor.

  • Matthew

    LivefreeCards was like “BUNT, MATHENY!!!!”

    • DrLefty

      I just noticed that the Cards are nine games under .500 AT HOME. 15 over on the road. That is some desultory play for their fans.

      • Matthew

        My buddy has been going FullLefty on Matheny to me every day…it’s incredibly entertaining.

        • livfreerdi

          He’s bad, no question

  • Scout Finch Baseball

    That’s huge that Cards could not tie game after triple. Huge. Go Conor.

  • Matthew

    Is that on Mensa Kelly?

    • DrLefty

      Gotta be, right?

      • Matthew

        The way Bochy looked at Kelly makes me think so…

        • DrLefty

          Yep. You know, IF we make it to the postseason, that kind of thing could matter. Couldn’t Kelly come down with the flu or something and let Steve Decker coach third?

          • Bapah

            Yes, please

          • Decker can’t even make it out to coach third base. Packing huge LBs.

  • Hoona

    Dude Bochy you HAVE to BUNT!!

    • PicoJim

      missed sign

  • carl hamilton

    We have Brain dead offense Giants tonight.

  • Jacob Singer

    Never send a Studebaker to do a Ferrari’s job.

  • carl hamilton

    Why are there so many frigging teams that have pitchers who own the Giants!!! I just dont get it!

    • SurfCity

      It’s like there’s a time share or something.

    • Matthew

      Carl, you are jacked up tonight…that was the first pass thru the lineup. Give them another pass through

  • Bapah

    Is anyone else having MLB.tv feed problems but me?

    • thefarnz

      OK here

    • Sgbssfg

      It is supposed to be on ESPN, too.

    • channelclemente

      You know I was, but I updated the Adobe Flash (minus that idiot Macafee krap) and that ended the issue. As I recall MLBtv uses that for video.

  • carl hamilton

    This has the feelings of another wasted starting pitcher great outing.

    • Matthew

      Shhhhhh….relax. It’s the 4th

  • Matthew

    Not to get ahead of things, but….WIN THIS GAME!!! A 2 game lead with 4 to play would be nice

    • TheSincere

      Ya think??

    • gamervixen

      i just said the same thing:)

    • SurfCity

      Moving it right along … beat up on the Dodgers and demoralize them before the playoffs.

      • SurfCity

        Whoa, let’s pause this little fantasy until they’re actually ahead in this current game.

  • Matthew

    AHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!FENNNNNCCCE!!!!!!

  • Ouch.

  • Jacob Singer

    Pagan horribly misplayed that. What’s he thinking….”Catch it at the w—no…play it off….shit. “

    • DrLefty

      Probably turned out the same anyway, but it wasn’t a good look.

  • Matthew

    Do we have a Certified Fence Therapist? We need one for our guy

  • Hoona

    Pagan assumed that it was going to go out and just trotted out to the fence. Lazy defense

  • carl hamilton

    Game set and match! Going to bed!!

  • DrLefty

    Would it be in poor taste to plan a little going-away party for Pagan and Casilla? Nothing over the top. Engraved watches and some gentle roasting.

  • SurfCity

    “Hit to me” sign slap-attached to Pagan’s back, apparently

  • Sit down!

  • Matthew

    Desultory inning

  • DrLefty

    So did you all catch that Duvall hit a 2-run single off Mike Leake…and the Reds beat the Cards 2-1?

    • Matthew

      It furthers our Duvall narrative from last night!

      • DrLefty

        He’s practically single-handedly keeping the Giants in playoff position.

        • Moooooooooose

          And everybody thinks trading him was a dumb move!

          • SurfCity

            Deep cover mission

    • It’s good that he still has a little orange and black running through his blood.

      • DrLefty

        Duvall, you mean. Leake never had any.

        • Yes, thanks for clarifying!!!

          • DrLefty

            It’s just so funny since they were traded for each other and it helps the Giants.

        • Matthew

          I remember when I was at Wrigley last year, and Leake got scratched…Heston thrown to the wolves with no notice…and the rest was….you know.

          That little klepto sure turned out to be worthless…

          • DrLefty

            ERA in the high 4s for the Cardinals, too. So glad we signed Shark and not him.

        • Bapah

          It was under his coat.

          • DrLefty

            LOL

    • Duval is a flag waving Bochy supporter

    • livfreerdi

      Cards left the tying run standing at third. Get promoted to MLB and stop playing the game.

      • DrLefty

        Duvall tripled to lead off the top of the ninth, so both teams did it!

        • Moooooooooose

          Not tonight he didn’t.

          • Moooooooooose

            Not in the ninth, anyway

          • DrLefty

            You’re right. A couple innings earlier.

          • Moooooooooose

            I ws the intrepid reporter on the scene, but after I posted, I thought, “Lefty remembers EVERYTHING!” so I had to recheck!

  • Peter Johnson

    I am sick of all the people that say when Posey hits the ball to right field it is good sign, no it is not, when he pulls line drives to left field that’s a good sign, he may lead the league in fly outs to right field .

    • Bapah

      Yes it is. When he pulls the ball he rolls it over to 6hole most often. Look at his spray charts.

      • Peter Johnson

        I am talking about balls in the air !

        • Bapah

          Don’t. That’s not what happens when he tries to pull the ball. Look over the last few years of sprays. When he inside outs balls he hits better.

    • thecove

      The thing is, even Buster has said on many occasions that when he is going well, he is going up the middle / right center.

      • Peter Johnson

        He’s wrong 21 of his 22 HRs in 2014 were pulled, he lost his power to Right field as he has gotten older, and Right Center Field at AT&T Park is where fly balls go to die .all the extra base hits he has hit the last 3 weeks were pulled ..

        • thecove

          In your original post you said line drives, and that what Posey has always talked about when he’s going good. Line drives to CF /R Center. Not sure if there is a better authority on how Buster feels about hitting then Buster himself. Lol

          • Moooooooooose

            Except PJ. PJ knows all.

        • You have some big brass cojones to think that you know more about Buster’s hitting than Buster does.

          • Moooooooooose

            Orrrrrrr . . .

        • Matthew

          Peter…I would defer to the future Hall of Famer to be a better judge than you

    • Depends where ball is thrown

      • Peter Johnson

        Take Pitches that you can not do damage with , and look for pitches you can drive .

        • Hunt fast balls – OR – sit on a get me in curve ball.

          Good job PJ – I agree

  • goodsam73

    did i hear that right ??? smardge has 10 strike out already ?????

  • Matthew

    I tell ya…if we can just get there. We got starters to carry us through. This dude is a new man

    • goodsam73

      raggs…the pitcher whisperer. now if he can just work some of that old magic on matty cain for ’17 I’ll be a happy gal

      • You are going against the grain on the blog regarding Cain… but I’m with you.

        • DrLefty

          We’d ALL love to see a comeback for Cain…just hard to keep hope alive after all these years, just like with Timmy before him. Shark was terrific in 2014–not so long ago.

          • SurfCity

            Next year maybe

        • goodsam73

          i confess to being a baseball romantic and i let it cloud my judgement – i’m hoping the big fella isn’t done yet [heck i’m still rooting for 55 marooned out there in utah : ) ]

    • Bapah

      2 new pitches.

      • DrLefty

        I look forward to his starts now. Guy’s electric.

        • Bapah

          I liked him when he was just east of there.

          • DrLefty

            I had my eye on him when he was still with the Cubs. I remember him coming into SF in 2014, around May when the Giants were playing great, and just mowing the Giants down. Had my eye on Moore, too. It’s funny we ended up with both of them.

          • Bapah

            I do too. I just didn’t think he’d ever be leaving the Cubs. I’ll admit, I never thought about Moore.

          • DrLefty

            Scout/Footy has mentioned Moore a few times the last year or two. I keyed in on him when we faced him in Tampa Bay in June–good stuff and a real competitor. I was happy on Aug. 1 when I heard we got him…and then I heard for whom. 🙁

          • Bapah

            Has anybody heard how the Dirtbag is doing after his surgery.

          • Slapping own back

        • SurfCity

          cc was talking him up for the potential playoff game.

  • DrLefty

    Holy crap, Shark’s pitching like a stud. Double-digit Ks from back-to-back starters. Now get him some runs!

    • You really have to wonder what the pitchers think about Pagan and Span out there, especially in the late innings. Do you think pagan’s recent offensive output somewhat makes up for his awful defense?

      • steve k

        no

      • DrLefty

        Hard to say. You need offensive support, too. I remember Greinke being unhappy when the Dodgers dumped Gordon and Kemp to get better defense. He said as a pitcher he was the first line of defense and he wanted offense.

  • Save runs from last nite

  • Hoona

    Come on offense! Give the fans in the stands something to cheer about!

  • Max

    Chatwood bringing it and getting the calls. Need a mistake up.

  • DP ball

  • DrLefty

    That might be the ballgame. Shark gets the ground ball he needed, but nope. I think any more runs and this is over.

    • DrLefty

      Shark!!!!!!
      Mr. Happy!!!!!!

  • Matthew

    Conor Gold Glaspie!

  • Efrain

    OMG they needed that!

  • steve k

    that was HUUUUGE!!!

  • Panik was lightning on turning that. He got rid of that quick.

  • Hoona

    Let’s start a 2 out rally right here

    • Hoona

      never mind.

  • pacman68

    Just got back. Giants offense in fine 2nd half form.

  • Matthew

    Not Darren Lewis

  • pacman68

    Wow!! Shark has 11 strike outs?

  • DrLefty

    Too bad. Shark pitched great.

    • CaptBrewster

      This schizophrenic offense is making me crazy! How many instances of excellent pitching has the offense failed to support this 2nd half!?! Too effing many by my count. Aaaaarrrgh!

      • DrLefty

        Shark has been victimized almost as often as Bum has.

  • TheSincere

    This game is so 2016.

    • goodsam73

      exactly the pitcher is terrifc and the bats are MIA

      • TheSincere

        I agree with the latter.

      • SurfCity

        MIA, or prisoners of W.A.R.

  • cabbie

    Uh. That run makes it feel Ike its 9-0.

    • DrLefty

      Yep

  • DrLefty

    It’s so sad–Matthew’s right; the way the starters are going, the Giants could be dangerous in a playoff series…but they might just miss out. All of those ninth inning leads frittered away, all of those games basically punted to Peavy/Cain starts…they all count, and now we see why.

    • TheSincere

      This whole season is a joke. Caring about it is a bigger joke.

    • giantc

      Exactly right!

    • goodsam73

      wonder how many of those coulda-woulda-shoulda games are in the W column

    • The Oracle

      Don’t give up. The Cardinals are pretty bad.

      • DrLefty

        I’d like them to have some distance before the weekend series. It’s going to be so galling if this infuriating season ends with the Dodgers grinding the Giants into the ground. But maybe that’s what this organization deserves right now.

        • The Oracle

          People don’t always get what they deserve.

        • Old Man

          It’s exactly what they deserve.

        • pacman68

          It’s gonna happen. It’s Vin Scully’s last year. Baseball God will make Giants pay.

      • Hoona

        And the Mets may have to burn out Syndergaard on Sunday before the WC

        • Peter Johnson

          No

          • Hoona

            TC already said that Syndergaard will start on Sunday and throw at least 25 pitches to stay loose, but if the Mets still have yet to clinch the top wild card spot by then, he will pitch a full outing.

          • Peter Johnson

            Nope , not worried about home field, from what I read and listened to .

      • SurfCity

        NL WIldcard Sound off:

        “Not it!”
        “Not it!”
        “Not it!”

      • Giants trying to keep pace with the Cards.

    • pacman68

      Just get in and breathe. That’s all we need to think about!! Good vibes.

    • Cannot keep talking about the past

  • giantc

    Shark pitched a nice game — the offense has been putrid. The last couple of innings they have also failed to make Chatwood work which will let him stay in the game longer.

  • livfreerdi

    I see Bochy records another Baker. But he hasn’t really tallied all that many

  • Scout Finch Baseball

    Chatwood pretty darn good so far tonight. But this is the inning…

    • TheSincere

      Don’t get too excitable, Sav.

    • We have the uncanny ability to make almost all the pitchers we face look really good.

      • Scout Finch Baseball

        This guy has legit stuff. Kind of Oswalt like.

        • giantc

          Especially against the Giants

        • Efrain

          I was thinking same, build, motion, etc!

    • Hoona

      I agree, this is the inning

  • DrLefty

    Another good job by Okert. I was looking at some team stats today, and wow, has Osich been bad this year– -1.1 WAR, worst reliever on the team. Okert may be positioning himself to be the #2 lefty after Smith next year.

  • giantc

    Was Reynolds not available — in a similar situation against the Padres Bucket Head turned a one run game into a 6 run game. A lot of us called for Okert in that game. He could have brought in Reynolds again which would allow all of us to move on and the cold fans could go home early too.

    • DrLefty

      LOL–they DFA’d Reynolds yesterday!

      • giantc

        Was that to make room for David Beckham or the the third string catcher that took the geniuses three weeks to find.

        • DrLefty

          Yes, they added those two guys, DFA’d Reynolds, and put Mac on the DL with a quad strain.

          • giantc

            Beckham was to make sure Tomlinson never starts again.

          • DrLefty

            Well, that’s understandable. All Kelby does is get clutch hits and make everyone else look bad.

    • Reynolds is designating an assignment.

    • Keep up with the waiver wire 🙂

  • giantc

    Time for a belt walk!!

    • thecove

      Nice call

    • CaptBrewster

      You psychic!

  • Scout Finch Baseball

    BB9 with the BB…

  • pacman68

    Don’t swing!!!

  • Old Man

    Double-play Posey strikes again!!!

  • Hoona

    Ughhhhh…

  • Scout Finch Baseball

    D’OH!

  • pacman68

    Let’s just get in the dance you guys. That’s all that matters.

  • giantc

    PJ he pulled it.

    • Peter Johnson

      IN THE AIR !!

      • Moooooooooose

        Don’t ever change, PJ!

      • giantc

        What — I am having trouble hearing.

  • TheSincere

    Love the smell of GIDP in a clutch spot in the evening. Especially with your superstar.

  • giantc

    That was a slow grounder to get doubled up on

  • The Oracle

    If Posey ends up a Hall of Famer, it won’t be because of 2016.

  • pacman68

    Posey swang at a ball.

  • Hoona

    Wow.. That de-escalated quickly

  • Scout Finch Baseball

    Sharp breaking balls down, 96 up. Nasty.

    • giantc

      Yes but Cy Chatwood still had an ERA over 4.00 before facing the fearsome Giants tonight.

      • Scout Finch Baseball

        Sounds pretty good for Rockies starter.

        • giantc

          You are right and I just checked and he is Cy Chatwood on the road this year. Sub 2.00 ERA and he has an ERA over 6 at home.

          • Scout Finch Baseball

            I did not know that. But yeah 1.88 Era on road.

  • pacman68

    Typical Giants garbage hitting. Dude threw 5 balls in a row Posey swang. Baseball rule number 1. Let him throw a strike.

    • SurfCity

      Could have got the hit batsman as well

  • The 0-68 must end tonight to validate the march for the WC spot.

  • just peachy.

    Sometimes I think Pagan may be reading a newspaper in left field. Perhaps filing his nails.

  • pacman68

    So why does management hate Kelby and Mac? Has anyone figured this out?

  • pacman68

    Great … here comes Strickland. Good night everyone.

  • Okert is not ready for pressure situations. Gorkys needs to be in CF in late innings. Vin started out a Giants fan, that’s why we’ll win that series.

    • pacman68

      Dodgers will clean our clock and end our suffering.

  • cabbie

    I wonder if opposing players are told to automatically take an extra base on anything hit to left field.

    • DrLefty

      Left or center. Absolutely. They’ve been doing it since spring training, seriously. The beat writers were pointing it out in March.

    • giantc

      Certainly CF — Arenado went to second on a medium fly to CF.

  • The Oracle

    Pagan is useless out there.

    • giantc

      He never calls off Crawford like he is supposed to do but I think I prefer Crawford making over the shoulder catches vs Pagan making a catch while moving.

    • I love his professionalism

  • DrLefty

    Just stand there and watch Crawford get that, Angel. Don’t wear yourself out. SMH

    • Craw didn’t want him tagging up on Pagan.

    • crawnik

      Pagan. Such a diva.

  • Craw playing LF again. He can do it all.

  • cabbie

    Crawford for LF!

  • Hoona

    Wow look how far Crawford had to go to catch that ball opposed to how little Pagan had to go

  • pacman68

    Why isn’t our brain dead manager putting in defense?

    • cabbie

      Because we gotta get em going!

    • crawnik

      Because this 12 run lineup worked so well for us last night.

  • pacman68

    Is Pagan and Span under contract next year?

    • giantc

      Span yes — pretty boy is gone.

  • DrLefty

    Mr. Lefty just put forth a theory: Angel is protecting his fielding percentage by not making risky attempts. If it just falls in, no possible errors. It’s his walk year, after all.

  • pacman68

    Just a reminder. Adam Duvall has 33 Home runs and 100 Rbi’s.

    • Peter Johnson

      102 RBI

    • DrLefty

      He drove in the only two runs vs Mike Leake and beat the Cards tonight.

      • pacman68

        My lord…that trade is just terrible now.

    • The Oracle

      102

      • pacman68

        Don’t need him in left field. Nah!!!

        • The Oracle

          The popular rationalization is now that he won’t be any good next season.

          • DrLefty

            Or in three years. Who knows how he’ll hold up? No one really knows!

          • Moooooooooose

            The only person upset when he was traded was PJ. The Oracle didn’t know who he was until somebody told him he got his 20th!

  • giantc

    If Pagan swings at the first pitch

  • pacman68

    I bet a million dollars Pagan swings at the first pitch.

    • crawnik

      You jinxed him.

    • pacman68

      I WIN A MILLION DOLLARS!!!!

    • giantc

      Has a team ever been worse at making another team pay for lead off walks.

  • Hoona

    Screw Pagan, Seriously

  • pacman68

    ha! ha!! you suck so bad Pagan….. I can’t wait till you leave!!

  • pacman68

    He didn’t even take a pitch!! What a piece of garbage!!

  • crawnik

    I wonder if this is payback for Giants putting Pagan in LF this year.

  • cabbie

    I can’t stand this team. I want them to win and I can’t stand them.

    • TheSincere

      They are impossible to like.

      • pacman68

        I don’t like anyone on this team. Maybe Crawford and Pence. That’s it.

        • TheSincere

          They have pissed away more games than any Giants team I can ever remember.

        • DrLefty

          I like the starting pitchers. They rock.

          • pacman68

            Yeah…you are right.

        • Moooooooooose

          Wait. Are you Pablo Sandoval?

    • DrLefty

      George, that should be the next featured post. 14 words of on-point truth.

    • Jacob Singer

      Last night was an illusion. This is more like who they really are.

      • SurfCity

        Sounds like one those I’ll-never-drink-against mornings

  • TheSincere

    This team is just HELL BENT on getting in the playoffs by the absolute skin of their teeth. Or not at all.

    • Scout Finch Baseball

      There’s judas priest and megadeth in there.

      • TheSincere

        I coulda set my clock by your Hell Bent for Leather response.

        • Scout Finch Baseball

          Ticking in my head.
          Ticking in my head.

  • 22’sSweetSwing

    This is a preview of the playoff folks, they cannot handle good pitching.

    • The Oracle

      Bad pitching can also be challenging.

      • 22’sSweetSwing

        Ouch? Truth hurts

    • Peter Johnson

      That’s why they still might not make it to the playoffs , they face good pitching the next 4 games .

  • pacman68

    This team won’t make the playoffs. Dodgers will eliminate them. Mark my words.

  • pacman68

    I bet another million dollars that the Giants end this game with a big goose egg.

    • giantc

      Playing with house money — go for it.

      • Jacob Singer

        Sabevans couldn’t get it done with all the house’s money.

    • Moooooooooose

      That would buy a lot of TV sets!

    • giantc

      Don’t leave yet — Gillapasie leads off next inning.

  • DrLefty

    This is the game where they break the streak of no ninth-inning comebacks. You watch.

    • Peter Johnson

      Bottom of the order +Span, not likely .

      • DrLefty

        Don’t stop believing, PJ!

  • The 0-68 bottom of the ninth streak ends tonight. Tonight’s the night. Giants need to endorse the march to the WC. They can reconcile this entire nasty rotten stank post AS break season by scoring three runs. Just fkng do it. Don’t be a sack of potatoes. Score three runs and make a statement. Tonight’s the night.

    • giantc

      I agree with Gillapsie and Span setting the table I am sure they will come back.

  • giantc

    Will Smith is solid!

    • Moooooooooose

      He’s a Prince!

  • Bapah

    OK, I’ve changed my mind about Will Smith

  • Scout Finch Baseball

    Will Smith is nasty. I like him. THIS is the inning…

  • pacman68

    I was going to leave but I was just informed by giantc that my boy is leading off next inning.

    • giantc

      Nooooooo they brought in a lefty which means no Gillapsie.

  • SurfCity

    Should Smith stay in to pitch the 10th?

  • Scout Finch Baseball

    Tommy over Gordo?

  • pacman68

    I bet a million dollars that my boy hits a dribbler to short.

    • DrLefty

      Pinch-hitter. Your boy is OUT

      • pacman68

        YAY!!!

  • The Oracle

    I just ordered 14 boxes of cereal on Amazon. I love the internet.

    • DrLefty

      I could use a 12-step program for Amazon.

  • cabbie

    Who is this guy with glasses hitting?

    • pacman68

      Mac Williamson I think.

  • DrLefty

    Look, another hit for Kelby.

  • Atta babe KT.

  • giantc

    I am so glad that Bochy the idiot only lets Tomlinson get one AB every three days.

  • Jacob Singer

    With Krukow there hasn’t been a single game in which the offense has failed. Every single loss it’s been _____________ pitching like an ace. He is the most transparent yes man in bay area sports coverage. God he’s nauseating.

    • The Oracle

      Tim Ryan is giving him a run for his money.

    • DrLefty

      “They ran into a buzz saw tonight”
      /drink

  • pacman68

    Wow!! Look at that. Kelby hits again.

  • TheSincere

    Well, would ya look at THAT. Another KT clutch hit.

    Screw you, Bochy.

    • Jacob Singer

      “Kelby doesn’t have the pedigree that ol’ Connor has…mumble…”

      • TheSincere

        Farce. All year long.

  • Humboldt Giants Fan

    It’s a good thing Tomlinson was in the minors all season. Nice work Giants

  • Bapah

    Why the hell can’t this kid just start?

    • giantc

      Especially with Nunez hurt — it is ridiculous.

    • TheSincere

      Because he doesn’t make big money. It’s that simple. And the sooner you guys figure that out, this farce will be less of a surprise.

    • The Oracle

      Come on, he’s no Conor Gillaspie.

      • Bapah

        Very true.

      • DrLefty

        Conor Gillaspie career WAR (parts of seven seasons): 1.5
        Kelby Tomlinson career WAR (less than one season): 1.7

        • Jacob Singer

          Bochy/Sabean/Evans Old Guy Fetish overrides everything. They prefer people closer to themselves in age & infirmity.

    • livfreerdi

      Swinging 2-0 against this guy was just bad baseball.

  • Scout Finch Baseball

    An XBH too!

  • pacman68

    Least he can’t hit into a double play.

  • giantc

    Are there no righties left?

    • GSDUbs

      There are no lefties, right?

      • giantc

        Lol

  • Hoona

    Just get on Span

    • Jacob Singer

      He should get on a plane to Siberia.

  • TheSincere

    Spantastic!!!! Earn that money, bro.

  • Jacob Singer

    Span sucks.

  • livfreerdi

    Remarkable the state of the game, or at least the Giants. Unlimited rosters and the second hitter off the bench is Gorky. He of the barely 600 lifetime OPS. Just remarkable

    • DrLefty

      Didn’t they go get the Beckham guy so they’d have another right-handed bat? So confused now.

      • Apparently, so is Bruce

        • giantc

          Maybe he fell asleep.

      • giantc

        They were waiting for PKs.

      • pacman68

        Yes…but he probably needs rest. He’s tired.

      • livfreerdi

        I have no idea why they got another noodle bat. But c’mon Bochy … Gorkys? Hell … I guess if you can bat him 5th ……

  • giantc

    Span had no chance against Logan

  • pacman68

    Has Span struck out yet? I’m in the kitchen getting a jelly donut.

  • Bapah

    PITIFUL

  • pacman68

    Has Belt flied out yet? I’m still in the kitchen.

  • TheSincere

    DP comin’. Ooops there’s 2 outs. Roller to SS comin’.

  • Atta babe BB9.

  • The Oracle

    Now that was a situation where the dive into first base was a good idea. If they had a chance to get Belt, it would’ve been with a running tag. Smart move by Belt.

  • giantc

    Okay — listen to PJ and pull one in the air and over the fence. I would like to see blanco steal second so a single could tie the game.

  • pacman68

    Has Posey grounded to short yet. I’m walking back in to the living room?

    • Old Man

      GMTA

    • DrLefty

      I like jelly doughnuts, too

      • pacman68

        I bought 6 jelly donuts for $1.50 at Ralphs. They expire tomorrow. I have to eat them all.

        • Jacob Singer

          You have 2 hours to midnight! Hurry up & get them in your stomach.

    • giantc

      Save one for the oracle — jk.

  • Old Man

    OK, double-play Posey is up. Game over.

  • TheSincere

    LOL. Shocker!

  • Hoona

    Another DP ball, except there was already 2 outs

  • Old Man

    Ground-out Posey.

  • giantc

    What a let down.

  • Damn!

  • Jacob Singer

    SHUT THE F-UP KRUKOW. JUST SHUT UP.

  • TheSincere

    Posey looked downright desperate in that AB.

  • On the positive side, we are keeping pace with the Cards. Fk it.

  • CaptBrewster

    Too effing little… too effing late.
    Two pretty poor results from our “superstar” catcher tonight. Either at bat could havd changed the end result for the better.
    Infuriating!!!

  • This team is so effin frustrating they make me sick.

  • pacman68

    I’ve eaten 3 jelly donuts and I’m done. No way I can finish 6. My gut is going to explode. Did we lose?

  • Hoona

    Worst statistical year of Posey’s career

  • SurfCity

    Situation Normal …

  • Bapah

    I’m over Bochy and his vet-love for this year.

  • DrLefty

    Sure glad Span got a key plate appearance against a lefty in the ninth while the new guy, the righty, stayed on the bench.

    I don’t understand anything anymore.

    • livfreerdi

      I really hope the new guy isn’t here to hit. He’s awful.

      • pacman68

        He’s here cause they think that he can hit. He’s beyond awful.

    • Hoona

      Seriously, where was Beckham?!

    • totalfan62

      Pardon me, I’m late to the party, as I recorded the game and watched it this morning.

      My biggest “whaat?” was hit ‘n run with Gillaspie at first and Shark at bat. I mean…why would you do that there!?

      • DrLefty

        Bochy said it was a “miscommunication.” So either Kelly gave the wrong sign or Gillaspie misread it.

  • pacman68

    I bet the rest of my donuts that Kelby won’t start tomorrow.

    • CaptBrewster

      He’s way too consistently productive to be allowed to start. Gotta save him for late lost causes.

    • totalfan62

      Nope. It’ll be Gillaspie. I’m sure of it.

  • livfreerdi

    Bochy is just bizarre. He was pitching the last guy in the pen (the guy they just cut) in critical situations. He’s using Gorkys as a “weapon” off the bench when he’s not batting him 5th. On and on.

    • DrLefty

      That Reynolds thing was strange in the moment and became even stranger when he got DFA’d four days later. They’re just flailing around making stuff up as they go along.

  • Jacob Singer

    We need to sign as many greying-haired baseball players.that we can find. Said absolutely no one but the Giants front office and Bruce Bochy.

  • pacman68

    The Pagan and Span lovefest is just insane. They are both awful in the outfield and can’t hit a lick. It’s crazy.

  • pacman68

    I wish Tebow was in left field.

    • 2holehitting

      Gee how many times have we ever had national news on a rookie minor league player hitting a home run in his first at bat? Now we have this media frenzy again, goodness gracious god have pitty on all of us.

  • pacman68

    Brian Sabean, discussed Belt’s place in the Giants’ batting order. “At this stage in Brandon’s development, and I don’t mean this in a negative way, he probably isn’t cut out for the middle of the order yet,

    HA!! HA!! GOOD OLD SABEAN!!

    • 2holehitting

      I told you guys his hitting approach is not made for the middle of the order as he is not an aggressive hitter. His K rate is very high because he appears to look for walks and not RBI’s. Now Sabean comes out and says he is not a middle of the order hitter basically implying his approach is all wrong.

      • PerSpeier35

        I disagree about his approach, nothing wrong with it, he just has a flawed swing, too loopy. He swings and misses at so many fastballs right in the wheelhouse, especially when he’s in a slump. The entire lineup is just shocking, how can a team, good or bad, go for such a long stretch with nobody hot? Guys will have one or maybe two good games but that is the limit, there is not one reliable hitter right now. Has Posey had a single important, clutch hit late in a game the entire season?

        • Scout Finch Baseball

          Bingo – nobody gets hot or if they do, it’s the warm variety and there’s not staying power.
          I’m sure Posey has come through at least once or twice and he has hit for better avg. with men on base than without, but he’s only hitting around .220 in high leverage situations. So the eye test is mostly confirmed.

          • totalfan62

            So, Scout: why do you think? Maybe fatigue–physical, mental and emotional. Complacency? “I’m the guy, he’s not gonna bench me/move me around, so no worries”? Something is different and very wrong.

          • Scout Finch Baseball

            Gonna rule out complacency right away.

            Physical and some mental fatigue for sure. Over 1000 innings behind the plate.

            Actually, last night he passed his previous career high for innings caught with was 1031 in 2013.

            His legs obviously aren’t fresh, so he has to compensate to generate bat speed. And mentally, he’s probably compensating to help his team by getting a big, clutch extra base hit. The DP’s are assuredly frustrating him. He’s probably pretty fried, but he’s giving it his all.

        • Post of the month of September

      • totalfan62

        I’m *really* not a fan of “I told you so”, in any applicable situation, FWIW.

        • 2holehitting

          You told me so…. 🙂

          • totalfan62

            Not really. Just sharing my opinion. Nothing personal there, just saying that the “told you so” thing has always seemed pointless to me. My problem, I guess.

          • 2holehitting

            OK then how about” I have been suggesting”?

      • Scout Finch Baseball

        I’ve noticed he seems to be trying to be more aggressive now that he’s in 2 hole : I’ll show them.

        That’s not the right way to do it, but whatever works. The idea is to let him be himself and get on base and drive the ball when he gets his pitch.

  • Peter Johnson

    Flannery spin is Krukow like .

  • Hoona

    And Samardzija picked up a loss from this game. What a shame, every Giants batter should have their heads sewn in a carpet

  • livfreerdi

    Bochyball tonight …. leadoff hitter is on repeatedly and stands there. Bochy never fears the DP and never worries about scoring a single run in close games. Putting on plays is too risky (unless the pitcher is hitting) but using possibly the worst hitter or the worst pitcher on the team in the 9th isn’t. They make the playoffs despite him, when they do.

    • Matthew

      Span tried to steal in the first, though

  • radicalpro

    Some thoughts from the game:
    1) Smarge has really turned things around. Crossing my fingers that he can keep it up for the next few years. His contract could turn into a steal if he can find consistency.

    2) I love Posey, but he’s not the guy I want up in the 9th inning with the game on the line.

    3) Wonder if Kelby will get more looks; he’s earned it but guessing not at this point in the season. Brings to mind something I’ll always remember from back in the Schierholtz days. Fans were clamoring for Nate to get more playing time, and he was on a hot streak but was still not starting. When Boch was asked about it, he said something to the effect of: yeah he’s swinging well, but I like that hot bat off the bench. And I’m like “ummm…ok”.

    4) If the Giants manage to get into the playoffs, they’ll redefine “backing in” to the playoffs. They’re so lucky the Cards are almost as crappy.

  • totalfan62

    Inexcusable loss last night. Any other week, you tip your cap to the young pitcher, but at this point in the season you have to find a way to scratch out a run, and then another to tie. This putrid hitting is unacceptable. Wasted a great quality start from Shark. We all love Posey, but if he can’t hit better than this he has to move out of the three hole.

    • PerSpeier35

      I never was much for Billy Martin but he was known draw a lineup out of a hat when his team was slumping. Might as well do that for this team, and an automatic redraw if Posey is pulled three or four.

      • totalfan62

        Or maybe just try something different. Span in the 8th/9th hole. Drop down Posey. Maybe Crawford in the top three. Most important, some bench guys in the mix. Kelby should have received more ABs.

        • 2holehitting

          It is the end of the year. You ride the horses that have gotten you this far. They may not be stallions or may be broken down, but they are the horses you ride.

          • totalfan62

            You’re right. Just saying, those players are ready to play as well. Mix up the order a bit. Do *something* differently.

          • Matthew

            but they scored 12 the night before. Exact same lineup….there was no indication of a need to mix it up. Baseball…

    • 2holehitting

      You need to give credit to the pitcher. He is having a fantastic year. The guy pitches in Colorado and has held the opposing teams to a .184 average and a .218 OBP. You throw a guy like that on the road in a pitchers park against the putrid offense the Giants show most every night and you are bound to get shutout, yet again.

      • totalfan62

        I did give credit. I’m saying that when you see he’s on his game, every pitch of every AB becomes crucial. I didn’t see that sense of urgency from the Giants last night. We’re fighting for the postseason. So…fight.

  • totalfan62

    I just watched some of the “highlights” from last night. On Span’s attempted steal of second in the first inning, he appeared to slow down a bit as he began the slide. Most of the stolen base guys are accelerating through the bag. Span went into a perfect pop-up slide, as if it was a force out at second. Perhaps he’s still protecting the hips/legs post-surgery, but that looked weak to me.

    • PerSpeier35

      I saw a pic of Pence whiffing last night. Pitch tracker shows the ball outside by six inches and Pence’s left foot is so far in the bucket, nearly to the far side of the batter’s box. How does she hitter step in the bucket like that on an outside pitch?

      • totalfan62

        Probably because he’s nor seeing the ball out of the pitcher’s hand, and maybe the pitch was a bit off-speed, so he’s way out front. Gotta say, though–I’d rather see that vs. Posey’s perfect swing delivering soft ground balls to the right side.

  • Scout Finch Baseball

    Lots of clamor for more Kelby time. Especially after another big knock, and this one cleared the outfielders head. What a short, flat swing!

    Perhaps the reason Bochy likes him were he is has to do with some of his splits.

    vs. LHP, Kelby is batting .319 (77 pa)
    vs. RHP, batting .242 (39 pa)

    as a pinch hitter, Kelby is 7 for 17 (.412)
    playing second base he is batting .271 in 65 PAs, with one double and wRC+ of 79.

    In high leverage situations, super clutch Kelby is batting .611. He’s batting in the low .200s in all other situations.

    So maybe having his bat off the bench late in the game is better than running with him from the start. He seems to have a knack for using his short stroke to frustrate those late inning relievers. They’re not sure what to do with this guy.

    • 610nm

      610nm, however, is pretty sure this guy is going to turn out to be a very useful ballplayer, being the all-around IF backup next season, and who knows, a few Zobresque type opportunities in RF.

    • DrLefty

      At this point in the season, though, stats and splits don’t mean too much. The only thing that matters is that the team is four games from either the postseason or the golf course. The team has not found any rhythm at all in September. None. The only guy, the one guy who has consistently been any kind of clutch hitter or hot hand, is Kelby Tomlinson. And yet instead of playing him more, the Giants trade for a guy to use instead of him–and then don’t use him, either.

      To me it’s just another example of messed-up thinking that has messed up this second half.

      • Scout Finch Baseball

        When things aren’t going well, naturally, the process is going to seem messed-up, or “moronic”, if you will.

        • DrLefty

          Well, there’s “things aren’t going well,” and then there are collapses of epic and historic proportions. The former makes one wonder if a few tweaks aren’t in order. The latter makes one want some explanations. That doesn’t seem unreasonable to me.

          But yes, I do think there’s been a pretty colossal failure this year that’s about 80% on management, from the front office to Bochy to the third base coach and perhaps the hitting coach(es). My opinion, which some share and some don’t.

  • Scout Finch Baseball

    Can’t say it gets much better tonight. Jon Gray is a big arm and has already dominated the Giants lineup this year. He doesn’t have the crazy good away splits like Chatwood (slightly better at home), but he’s a very good young pitcher. Hitters have their work cut out for them, as tired as they are.

    Will Bochy go with the same soup lineup? Or mix in some ham bone and kale?

    And here’s some cap tipping you don’t want to hear:

    you have to tip your cap to the professionalism of MLB players on teams that are out of it. They are making the Wild Card chase very interesting by continuing to play hard to the very end of the season. The Reds are giving the Cards some business as well. The Marlins, bless their hearts are giving it all they can. Those guys are scheduled to go the airport, drop off their bags, then attend a private funeral for Fernandez. Then get on the plane to Washington DC.

    • Matthew

      Hey, Cuz…is he a righty?

      there should have been no changed before last nights game, in my opinion. They scored 12 the night before. Why change a thing, right?

      • DrLefty

        Hey Matthew, I had a thought about what you said about Mac yesterday. I remembered that Mac and Duffy were very close friends. They were teammates in San Jose and Richmond, and before Mac came up last year, I remember reading that they “texted everyday.” Then Mac went to SoCal and trained with Duffy and a hitting instructor over the winter.

        So fast forward a few months. Mac falls and injures his shoulder on July 31, and is immediately put on the DL and buried in the minors until September (see Tomlinson, Kelby). The next day, his good buddy is traded. I’m guessing Mac was/is hurting for Duffy, as it’s been quite public how shocked and devastated Duffy was by the trade. Then Mac finally comes back up when rosters expand and is chained to the bench. I even asked Schulman if he could find out if Bochy was mad at Mac. Schulman said no, this is just how Bochy rolls, with veterans.

        Anyway, if there’s any “attitude” there, it might be related to feeling bad for his friend and being disappointed with his own situation–and yes, maybe a bit of cynicism about how the organization treats its young players. It all makes sense. They’re human. And young.

        • Matthew

          Shooting you an email later…

        • Guys-Boys-Men don’t look at things that way….Maybe girls do but not guys, not even young guys.

      • Scout Finch Baseball

        Right-o.

        as for tonight – maybe Boch concedes some fatigue here or there.

  • crawnik

    Okay, so let’s see what we have here in the land of “Consistently Inconsistent”.
    Since the game after MadBum’s run-in with Puig, the Giants have gone as follows: win, loss, win, loss, win, loss, win, loss. So, conventional wisdom; if there is any, would mean Giants win tonight behind Cueto, lose tomorrow night, win Saturday, lose on Sunday. They clinch the 2nd WC spot this weekend.
    So that would put the Giants in line to win the WC game in New York. Hey, I can wish, right?

  • Scout Finch Baseball

    Hopefully the Mets will be compelled to throw Syndergaard on Sunday. I heard some talk on the Mets broadcast that Collins may go with him on Sunday so as to help preserve the home field advantage in the WC game.

    Hmmmmm.

    • crawnik

      Samardzija v. “Two Slices” Colon?

    • Peter Johnson

      Nope, just the opposite .

  • BALDHEADSLIKK

    Last nights game was very very predictable! I was telling my friend Anne the night we scored 12 unbelievable runs against anyone that the Giants would score 2 or fewer runs the very next game. Its been their M.O. for awhile now.

  • Scout Finch Baseball

    He’s no Duffy or Nunez, but I thought Conor looked pretty solid at 3B. Perhaps he’s playing above his reputation.

    • DrLefty

      The DP he started was great and huge at the time. The night before I noticed that he double clutches almost every time he throws to 1B. Doesn’t seem to have a lot of confidence in his throwing.

      • Scout Finch Baseball

        arm not his strong suit as well well know from his early years

        • totalfan62

          Overall defense is below MLB standards. Gillaspie is a professional. He’ll give you a good AB every time, and always be ready to make a play. I still think he’s better off the bench, and Kelby or AD should start.

      • Players double clutch when they grab the ball out of the mitt without having a four seem grip

  • BALDHEADSLIKK

    Bruce Bochy has seemingly turned into one dumb bastard! If your got damn team cannot hit the baseball on a consistent bases you need to bunt guys over into scoring position and hope that someone comes through with a base knock especially in close low scoring games. It seems to me that he has zero idea on how that concept works, what a terrible managerial job from our skipper this year!!!

    • Were you a good bunter? Most pros are terrible bunters.

  • Bapah

    I hope they don’t go to post season for one reason. If they do, in fact make it, it might just validate Bochy’s “head up the ass” approach to running this team lately.